Skip to content
Saved

Goal-based/Humanoid Robots/2 robots compared/Reviewed Aug 2026

Honor D1 Lightning vs Tiangong 3.0: what can each robot do?

Each robot demonstrates a different capability.One machine's public record is a locomotion result; the other's is a specification sheet and an open-development platform. Neither published record covers the other's category.
X-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0View recordBeijing Humanoid Robot Innovation Center (X-Humanoid)IIIX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0
Full specifications11 measurements · 14 of 22 documented
Battery type
Li-ion
Not documented
Navigation
Autonomous bipedal gait control and dynamic balance on a prepared, marked course. Honor has not disclosed the sensor or navigation architecture. The machine has no head and no eyes, so camera-based path following does not describe it.
Depth camera, lidar and a high-precision IMU. The manufacturer lists an outdoor navigation backpack and OCC surround perception as future extensions rather than shipping features. Internal communication runs CAN FD and EtherCAT across the body; external is WiFi 6e and Bluetooth.
Connectivity
wifi
Not documented
Weight
Not documented
142.2 lbs
Form factor
bipedal
bipedal
Released
Mar 2026
Feb 2026
Degrees of Freedom
Not documented
31 (head 2, waist 3, upper limbs 14, lower limbs 12)
Peak Joint Torque
Not documented
400 Nm
Compute
Not documented
2,070 TOPS module, 4.8 GHz controller
Battery
Not documented
15Ah + 3Ah, hot-swappable
Openness
Not documented
Open low-level interfaces, open whole-machine URDF, open-sourced control and VLA frameworks
01/05

What has each robot actually demonstrated in public?

Both machines have staged public demonstrations, but the setting, the task and who set the terms differ in ways that change what the demo actually proves.

Where they differHonor D1 Lightning — Outside-set terms: Public race, outside course and timing
EvidenceHonor D1 LightningX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0
Public demonstration event21 km half-marathon runCrowded-venue navigation walk
Event settingMarked race course, handlers presentManufacturer's own event (WRC 2026)
Outside-set termsPublic race, outside course and timingDiffersSelf-staged company demonstration
Intervention during demoStruck railing, handler assistedNone reported
Sources & evidence
Xinhua News Agency, April 2026

Xinhua reported Honor D1 Lightning finishing the Beijing E-Town half-marathon in 50:26 under on-board control, noting it struck a railing near the finish and required handler assistance.

X-Humanoid product record, Aug 2026

X-Humanoid's own record states the autonomous navigation shown for Tiangong 3.0 was demonstrated by the manufacturer at its own events, unlike the Ultra variant's competition results.

02/05

Does either robot have hands or manipulation ability?

One robot is legs and torso with no head; the other is a full humanoid with optional dexterous hands. The evidence for each is documented separately.

Where they differX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0 — Hands / manipulator: Yes, dexterous hands optional
EvidenceHonor D1 LightningX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0
Hands / manipulatorNone (legs and torso only)Yes, dexterous hands optionalDiffers
Degrees of freedomNot disclosed43 (manufacturer stated)
Manipulation task demonstratedNone (no hands to demonstrate)None demonstrated in public record
Head / vision hardwareNo head, no eyesHead with depth camera
Sources & evidence
Pandaily, Feb 2026; X-Humanoid spec sheet

Pandaily's coverage and X-Humanoid's own specification sheet describe Tiangong 3.0 as built for whole-body control, with dexterous hands available as an option.

Honor MWC announcement, March 2025

Honor's public materials and MWC announcements describe Lightning as a legs-and-torso machine; no gripper, grasping-force figure or manipulation subsystem has been published.

03/05

What do the published physical specifications show?

Only one manufacturer has published dimensions, weight, battery and compute figures for its machine; the other's sheet is largely blank.

Where they differX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0 — Height: 66.93 in (170 cm)
EvidenceHonor D1 LightningX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0
HeightNot disclosed66.93 in (170 cm)Differs
WeightNot disclosed142.2 lbs (64.5 kg)
BatteryNot disclosed15Ah + 3Ah, hot-swappable
Onboard computeNot disclosed2,070 TOPS module
Navigation sensorsUndisclosed; no head or eyesDepth camera, lidar, IMU
Sources & evidence
X-Humanoid spec sheet; Pandaily, Feb 2026

X-Humanoid's specification sheet lists 170 cm and 64.5 kg for Tiangong 3.0, though independent coverage of the unveiling reported 169 cm and 62 kg for the same machine.

Honor MWC announcement; Xinhua, Apr 2026

No dimensions, weight, battery capacity or compute figures for Honor D1 Lightning appear in Honor's announcement materials or the Xinhua marathon coverage reviewed for this record.

04/05

How open is each platform to outside developers?

Openness to outside developers is not evenly distributed between these two machines, and the published record shows exactly where the line falls.

Where they differX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0 — Low-level interfaces: Fully open (joint, sensor, motion)
EvidenceHonor D1 LightningX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0
Low-level interfacesNot disclosedFully open (joint, sensor, motion)Differs
URDF (whole-machine model)Not publishedPublished
Control / VLA frameworkNot disclosedOpen-sourced
Compute platform choiceNot disclosedSelectable x86 or Nvidia Thor
Sources & evidence
X-Humanoid specification page

X-Humanoid's specification page states the low-level interfaces for joints, sensors, motion control and manipulation are fully open, with the whole-machine URDF published and the control and VLA frameworks open-sourced.

Honor announcement materials, 2025-2026

No developer interfaces, open-source repository or published machine model for Honor D1 Lightning appear anywhere in the manufacturer's announcement or press materials reviewed for this record.

05/05

Is either robot available to buy, or when?

Neither robot has a price or a ship date, but one has a named commercial partner attached to a deployment plan and the other does not.

Where they differX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0 — Named deployment partner: Mercedes-Benz (dealerships, auto shows)
EvidenceHonor D1 LightningX-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0
Consumer priceNot publishedNot published
Ship dateNone announcedNone announced
Named deployment partnerNone disclosedMercedes-Benz (dealerships, auto shows)Differs
Delivery modelUndisclosed; possible enterprise pilotsPilot / partner delivery, not direct sale
Sources & evidence
WRC 2026 coverage; X-Humanoid record

X-Humanoid showed the Mercedes-Benz partnership at WRC 2026, stating the machine is set to enter dealerships, auto shows and sporting events, without publishing a price or ship date.

Honor Alpha Strategy materials

Honor has not announced a distribution channel, price or ship date for Lightning; the Alpha Strategy framing implies a multi-year development horizon rather than near-term availability.

In closing

What the evidence shows

Patterns that emerged across the questions above.

01

Each robot demonstrates a different capability

One machine's public record is a locomotion result; the other's is a specification sheet and an open-development platform. Neither published record covers the other's category.

02

Documentation depth is not symmetric

Tiangong 3.0 carries published dimensions, battery, compute and interface specifications; Lightning's record leaves most of the same fields blank, reflecting what each manufacturer has chosen to disclose.

03

Neither has a documented path to a household

Both robots remain pre-release with no price, ship date or consumer channel; the closest either has to a delivery plan is a commercial pilot, not a purchase option.

Common questions

What readers ask about this comparison.

Q.
Is Honor D1 Lightning available to buy?
No. Honor has not announced a price, ship date or consumer channel, and its Alpha Strategy materials describe multi-year development rather than near-term availability.
Q.
Does X-Humanoid Tiangong 3.0 have hands?
Yes. X-Humanoid’s specification sheet lists dexterous hands as an available option on Tiangong 3.0, alongside 43 body degrees of freedom across the head, waist and limbs.
Q.
How did Honor D1 Lightning run a half-marathon without falling?
It did not run cleanly. Xinhua’s coverage of the Beijing E-Town half-marathon reports Lightning striking a railing near the finish, after which handlers lifted it back up before it completed the 21 km course in 50:26.
Q.
Are Honor D1 Lightning and Tiangong 3.0 the same type of robot?
No. Lightning is a legs-and-torso machine built for running with no head or hands, while Tiangong 3.0 is a full humanoid platform with a head, optional hands and an openly published specification sheet, per each manufacturer’s own materials.
Q.
Has an outside party verified either robot's autonomy claims?
Not fully. Lightning’s marathon finish happened at a public race with outside timing and course-setting, but X-Humanoid’s own record states Tiangong 3.0’s navigation demonstrations have so far been staged at the manufacturer’s own events.
Next up

Honor D1 Lightning vs HMND 01 Alpha: what's each actually for?

Read the comparison
Comparison ID: RV–CMP–9289 · Last reviewed Aug 26, 2026 · Based on owner reports, manufacturer documentation, and firmware release notes