- Changes
- 4
- Tracking since
- Mar 2025
- Latest
- Sep 26, 2026
- Net movement
- Wait to Ready Now
- 2026
-
iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo price up 63% in 14 days
Robovations price-history tracking recorded the iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo's price move from a $799 low on 2026-08-25 to $1,299.99 on 2026-09-25, a 63 percent increase, returning the listing to iRobot's published MSRP.
Full assessment2 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score04055708568CapableWhat happenedThe change affects what the machine costs to buy, not what it can do: the record's LiDAR navigation, object recognition and AutoWash dock cycle are unchanged.
WatchingWhether $799 recurs as a repeatable promotional low or was a one-time clearance price.
Bottom lineThe price swung between a promotional low and the manufacturer's list price; nothing about the machine changed in that window.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Price movement carries no capability change for this record.
- ClearView Pro LiDAR mapping and object recognition remain as previously assessed.
- Autonomy Ladder classification holds at Level III, unchanged by this price entry.
On readiness
- This entry records a price change with no readiness implication.
- Consumer readiness status remains as last assessed on 2026-09-02.
- No new evidence about setup, support or reliability accompanies this observation.
Claim check2 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
iRobot lists MSRP at $1,299.99 for the Max 705 Combo
Documented findingRobovations price-history tracking recorded an $799 low on 2026-08-25, roughly 39 percent under MSRPThe current listed price reflects a price increase
Documented findingThe 2026-09-25 observation of $1,299.99 is a return to iRobot's standing MSRP rather than a hike past itEvidence2 sources · all linked
- 1Robovations price history26 Sep 2026
- 2iRobot (manufacturer product page, MSRP)26 Sep 2026
Technical notes3 sectionsPrice Observation
Robovations price-history tracking for this record shows a low of $799 on 2026-08-25 and a return to $1,299.99, iRobot’s listed MSRP, on 2026-09-25. Source: the record’s own price-history endpoint (price-history/6862).
No Hardware or Software Change
The record’s specifications, including ClearView Pro LiDAR navigation, PrecisionVision object recognition and the AutoWash dock’s wash-and-dry mop cycle, are unchanged from the prior assessment dated 2026-09-02. No firmware note or product revision accompanies this price movement.
Retail Context
iRobot’s MSRP for the Max 705 Combo has stood at $1,299.99 since its 2025-09-26 release. The $799 figure recorded in August sits below that MSRP by roughly 39 percent, consistent with a promotional discount rather than a list-price change.
-
Shenzhen Picea Robotics acquires iRobot brand and Roomba product line
Shenzhen Picea Robotics finalized its acquisition of iRobot in January 2026, transferring ownership of the Roomba product line, including the Max 705 Combo launched less than a year prior.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score04055708568CapableWhat happenedNo immediate product or firmware changes were announced at acquisition close.
WatchingFor continuity of AutoWash dock parts supply, warranty handling, and iRobot Home app maintenance under the new ownership structure.
Bottom lineThe acquisition is a business-structure event with no immediate capability impact; the relevant risk window is 12-24 months out, centered on firmware maintenance and consumable parts availability.
ImpactOn autonomy
- No navigation or autonomy architecture changes announced at acquisition close
- vSLAM mapping and obstacle-avoidance software continuity dependent on new owner's firmware roadmap
- Level III classification unchanged; no capability regression or advance documented at transition
- App-dependent features (zone mapping, scheduling) require continued iRobot Home app maintenance
On readiness
- Warranty support and parts supply responsibility transferred to Picea Robotics
- No immediate price, availability, or retail channel disruption documented at close
- Long-term firmware and app support timelines not publicly disclosed by new owner
- Owner community uncertainty about AutoWash dock replacement parts sourcing post-acquisition
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
iRobot acquisition ensures product line continuity
Documented findingNew ownership (Picea Robotics) has not published a public firmware roadmap or parts-supply guarantee for existing Roomba Max ownersRoomba Max 705 Combo warranty remains valid
Documented findingStandard warranty obligations transfer to acquiring entity under consumer protection law; enforcement mechanisms and service infrastructure under Picea Robotics not yet documentediRobot Home app will continue to receive updates
Documented findingApp maintenance commitment not publicly specified at acquisition close; owner community flagged uncertainty in forum reportsBrand and product continuity as before
Documented findingAcquisition by a Shenzhen-based firm represents a structural ownership change; supply chain, pricing, and regional availability may shift in ways not yet documentedEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
2113 Jan 202623 Jan 2026filed 23 Jan 2026- 1The Verge14 Jan 2026
- 2Reuters13 Jan 2026named, not linked
Technical notes4 sectionsAcquisition Summary
Shenzhen Picea Robotics completed the acquisition of iRobot Corporation in January 2026. The transaction covers the full Roomba product line, including the Max 700 series launched in early 2025. Picea Robotics is a Shenzhen-based robotics firm; the deal represents the second major ownership change for iRobot following the collapse of the Amazon acquisition.
Affected Product Systems
The iRobot Home app, AutoWash dock firmware, and vSLAM navigation software for the Roomba Max 705 Combo all fall within the transferred IP. Continued development depends on Picea Robotics’ internal engineering resources and strategic roadmap, neither of which was disclosed publicly at acquisition close.
Owner Impact at Transition
Existing owners retain active devices and current firmware. Replacement parts (dust bags, mop pads, brush rolls) were available through retail channels at acquisition close. Warranty service routing was not publicly detailed by Picea Robotics at close. App functionality is contingent on continued server infrastructure maintenance by the new owner.
Competitive Context
The acquisition follows a period of market contraction for iRobot after the Amazon deal collapse. Several competing combo robots from Roborock, Ecovacs, and Dreame were shipping with comparable or higher suction at similar price points in the same window.
- 2025
-
Roomba Max 705 Combo owner reports surface dock clog pattern in pet homes
Aggregated owner reports from a user forum and Amazon reviews identified a recurring dock auto-empty port clog in pet-heavy homes, requiring manual clearing every 3-7 days under heavy shedding conditions. iRobot acknowledged the issue in community forum responses but did not issue a firmware or hardware revision within the documented window.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score↓ moved by this entry04055708568CapableWhat happenedWatchingFor whether Picea Robotics addresses the clog pattern in a future dock hardware revision or firmware-adjusted dock cycle.
Bottom lineThe dock clog is a real maintenance friction point for pet households; it does not disable the robot but narrows the gap between the Max 705's autonomy promise and the actual owner experience in high-shedding environments.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Dock clog causes incomplete auto-empty cycles; robot returns to full bin before next clean
- Reduced auto-empty reliability forces more frequent owner intervention than spec implies
- vSLAM navigation and mapping unaffected; the failure mode is dock-side, not robot-side
- Level III classification unchanged; clog is a maintenance burden, not an autonomy regression
On readiness
- Pet-home owners report 3-7 day manual clearing cadence on top of documented weekly schedule
- Clog incidents documented primarily in homes with two or more shedding pets
- No OEM fix issued; workaround is manual port inspection and clearing with included tool
- Maintenance burden assessment revised upward for pet-home use cases
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Sealed AutoWash dock eliminates frequent maintenance
Documented findingAuto-empty port clogging in pet-heavy homes requires manual clearing every 3-7 days per owner reports; maintenance frequency exceeds documented scheduleSelf-cleaning dock handles pet hair volumes
Documented findingHigh-volume shedding deposits compact at the auto-empty port transition; the dock filter and bag continue to function but the port itself clogs under sustained high-load conditionsiRobot firmware updates address owner-reported issues promptly
Documented findingCommunity forum acknowledgment documented; no firmware update or hardware revision addressing the clog pattern was issued within the autumn 2025 window covered by this entryOne cleaning cycle per day sufficient for pet homes
Documented findingMultiple owner reports describe needing two daily cycles plus manual bin checks to maintain auto-empty function under two-pet shedding loadsEvidence2 sources · all linked
128 Oct 202522 Oct 2025filed 20 Oct 2025- 1iRobot Community Forum8 Oct 2025
- 2r/RobotVacuums on Reddit22 Oct 2025
Technical notes4 sectionsFailure Mode Description
The AutoWash dock on the Roomba Max 705 Combo routes collected debris from the robot’s dustbin through an auto-empty port into a sealed bag. In high-volume pet hair conditions, compressed hair strands accumulate at the port transition and create a partial or complete blockage. The bag and filter remain functional; the blockage occurs at the port intake.
Owner-Reported Clearing Method
Owner community documentation describes manual clearing using the included cleaning tool to dislodge compressed hair from the port opening. Clearing time is reported at 2-5 minutes per incident. Some owners report pre-emptive clearing as part of their weekly maintenance routine to prevent full blockage.
Scope and Conditions
The clog pattern appears most consistently in homes with two or more medium-to-large shedding breeds, or equivalent cat-shedding volume. Single-pet and low-shed households report the documented weekly maintenance cadence without incident. iRobot community forum acknowledged reports in responses; no official service advisory or part-number revision was issued in the window covered by this entry.
Assessment Impact
This entry prompted a reliability score adjustment. The clog does not affect the robot’s vSLAM navigation, obstacle avoidance, or mopping function. The maintenance burden for pet-home owners is higher than the product page implies, warranting explicit documentation in the maintenance section.
-
iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo launches at $799 retail availability
iRobot launched the Roomba Max 705 Combo on July 22, 2025, marking the brand's first combo robot in the post-bankruptcy relaunch period.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman Readinessmoved by this entryReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score04055708568CapableWhat happenedThe AutoWash dock adds mop-pad self-cleaning alongside auto-empty, expanding the dock feature set beyond prior Roomba generations.
WatchingFor owner reports on dock clog rates and mapping stability over the first months of wide deployment.
Bottom lineThe launch delivers a feature-complete combo dock at $799 with meaningful dock automation; mopping capability is secondary to vacuuming and should not be the primary purchase driver.
ImpactOn autonomy
- vSLAM visual navigation confirmed as primary mapping method, not LiDAR
- AI obstacle avoidance extends recognized-object set beyond predecessor j-series baseline
- Multi-floor mapping supported; generalization to unmapped spaces remains Level III cap
- Dock navigation relies on visual landmark recall; no LiDAR-based dock-locating
On readiness
- Full retail availability at $799 moves product from announced to purchasable
- Setup documented at 2-4 hours for multi-room mapping; moderate owner effort floor
- AutoWash dock reduces mid-cycle mop-pad intervention compared to prior Roomba combos
- Product continuity confirmed under then-current iRobot ownership at launch
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
AutoWash dock eliminates manual mop maintenance
Documented findingOwner reports recommend weekly hand-washing of pads when mopping more than twice per week; dock auto-wash is supplemental, not a replacementAI obstacle avoidance handles all common household obstacles
Documented findingManufacturer documentation confirms a trained recognition set; dynamic obstacles outside that set are not reliably avoided per owner community reportsCombo robot replaces dedicated wet-mop appliance
Documented findingMopping is documented as supplemental by owner reports; wet-mop specialists outperform on stubborn grimeFully hands-off cleaning routine
Documented findingDock auto-empty port clogs documented in pet-heavy homes; weekly mop-pad washing and monthly nozzle cleaning requiredEvidence2 sources · all linked
1215 Mar 202518 Mar 2025filed 15 Mar 2025- 1iRobot Product Page15 Mar 2025
- 2The Verge18 Mar 2025
Technical notes4 sections
Navigation Architecture
The Roomba Max 705 Combo uses vSLAM (visual Simultaneous Localization and Mapping) with a forward-facing camera array, consistent with iRobot’s j-series lineage. No LiDAR sensor is present. Obstacle avoidance uses AI image classification trained on common household objects.
Dock Capabilities
The AutoWash dock integrates auto-empty (sealed dust bag) and mop-pad cleaning with an internal water reservoir. The dock flushes mop pads between cleaning sessions. Water-line integrity and nozzle clogging are documented maintenance points requiring monthly attention.
Key Specifications at Launch
MSRP: approximately $1,299.99 at launch. Battery: 72 Wh Li-ion, 120-minute runtime, 180-minute charge. Suction: 4,000 Pa. Connectivity: 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only (no 5 GHz support). Dimensions: 13.4 x 13.4 x 3.5 inches, 7.1 lbs. Maximum threshold crossing: 4 mm.
Retail Context
Launch coincides with iRobot’s re-entry into retail after the Amazon acquisition collapse and subsequent relaunch under independent ownership. Shenzhen Picea Robotics acquisition was not yet finalized at launch; brand continuity operated under the prior ownership structure at time of release.