- Changes
- 4
- Tracking since
- Jan 2024
- Latest
- Sep 15, 2026
- Net movement
- Wait to Ready Now
- 2026
-
iRobot names the Roomba 105 Combo as successor to the Combo Essential
iRobot's Roomba 105 Combo, part of its 2025 lineup, is now recorded as the Combo Essential's direct successor.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIAssisted AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score04055708561CapableWhat happenedThe Essential's own classification and sale listing are unaffected by the update, and the record does not show a discontinuation date.
WatchingWhether iRobot's post-bankruptcy support commitments, made for its current lineup, extend to legacy models like the Essential.
Bottom lineNaming a successor records a product-line fact, not a change to the Combo Essential's own classification or availability.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Gyroscope-only navigation and the Combo Essential's own Level II classification are unchanged here.
- The newer 105 Combo instead uses LiDAR mapping and carpet detection while mopping.
- No new obstacle-avoidance or mapping behavior has been documented for the Essential itself.
On readiness
- Combo Essential remains listed for purchase at current retailers with no stated end date.
- Setup and support documentation for the Essential are unchanged by the successor's release.
- iRobot's bankruptcy-era support commitment names its current lineup, not explicitly the Essential.
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
iRobot's 2025 lineup positions the 105 Combo as a direct upgrade path from earlier Roomba Combo models.
Documented findingThe Combo Essential's own classification and retail listing are unchanged in its record; no discontinuation is documented.The newer line is described with LiDAR mapping and auto-empty convenience.
Documented findingThose features are not retrofittable to the Combo Essential, which keeps gyroscope-only navigation and a plain charging dock with no pad handling.iRobot said app functionality, parts and support would continue without disruption after its Chapter 11 filing.
Documented findingThat statement was made about the company's current lineup; the record does not confirm it names the Essential specifically.A named successor can read as the Essential being phased out.
Documented findingThe stored record carries only a succession link, not a sale halt, status change, or support end date.Evidence2 sources · all linked
212 Sep 202615 Sep 2026filed 15 Sep 2026Technical notes4 sectionsSuccession Recorded
The Combo Essential’s record (model Y014020, released 4 Apr 2024) now carries a succession link to the Roomba 105 Combo (released 18 Mar 2025 as part of iRobot’s 2025 lineup), filed as a direct succession.
What The Successor Adds
The 105 Combo’s own record documents ClearView LiDAR navigation, 7,000 Pa suction, carpet detection and avoidance during mopping, and an optional AutoEmpty dock holding up to 75 days of debris. The Combo Essential’s record documents gyroscope-only navigation, a plain charging dock with no pad handling of any kind, and a mop pad that is attached and washed by hand.
What Has Not Changed
The Combo Essential’s own classification, autonomy level and readiness status are unchanged by this update. Its listed price range ($199-$275) and retailer availability remain as recorded, with no stated discontinuation date.
Open Question
iRobot told owners at its December 2025 Chapter 11 filing that app functionality, parts and support would continue without disruption. That statement was made for the current lineup, and the record does not confirm whether it extends to superseded models like the Essential.
- 2024
-
iRobot going-concern disclosure clouds Combo Essential support outlook
iRobot disclosed going-concern doubts in its 2023 annual SEC filing, released in spring 2024, weeks after the Combo Essential entered retail.
Full assessment3 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIAssisted AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score04055708561CapableWhat happenedThe company's auditors cited insufficient liquidity to fund operations absent new financing; iRobot subsequently secured a credit facility to maintain short-term operations. Buyers evaluating long-term support commitments for the Combo Essential should treat this period as one of elevated platform risk, regardless of the product's functional state at retail.
Bottom lineThe product functions as documented at retail; the risk is platform-level, not unit-level.
ImpactOn autonomy
- No autonomy-class change; gyroscope platform unchanged by financial disclosures
- Firmware development continuity uncertain given reduced engineering headcount
- No roadmap published for navigation capability upgrades to this model
On readiness
- Product remains available at major retailers; short-term function unaffected
- Long-term warranty and software support viability dependent on financing outcome
- Owners relying on iRobot cloud services face elevated discontinuation risk
Claim check3 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
iRobot is a trusted, established robotics brand
Documented finding2023 annual filing disclosed going-concern uncertainty; auditors cited insufficient liquidity without new capital. Credit facility secured as a bridge measureiRobot Home app and cloud services are available for the product lifecycle
Documented findingCloud-dependent features (app control, scheduling, OTA updates) require ongoing iRobot infrastructure. Going-concern status raises discontinuation risk for cloud services if financing failsProduct launch signals sustained investment in the budget combo category
Documented findingCombo Essential launched during a period of 31% workforce reduction and unresolved financing uncertainty; no follow-on SKU roadmap was publicly disclosedEvidence2 sources · 0 linked
12Mar 2024May 2024filed 15 May 2024- 1iRobot Annual Report 2023 (SEC Filing)31 Mar 2024named, not linked
- 2Reuters2 Apr 2024named, not linked
Technical notes4 sectionsGoing-Concern Disclosure
iRobot’s 2023 annual report, filed with the SEC in spring 2024, included an auditor note regarding going-concern uncertainty. The disclosure cited the company’s dependence on external financing to fund operations following the collapse of the Amazon acquisition and the January 2024 workforce reduction.
Credit Facility
iRobot secured a revolving credit facility in early 2024 to cover near-term liquidity needs. The terms were not fully disclosed in available public filings, but the facility was described as sufficient for short-term operating continuity.
Impact on Combo Essential
The Combo Essential relies on iRobot’s cloud infrastructure for app-based scheduling, OTA firmware delivery, and remote diagnostics. A going-concern outcome would place these services at risk. The unit’s core vacuum and mop functions operate without cloud connectivity, but navigation and scheduling capabilities would degrade without the companion app.
Product Classification
No change to the Combo Essential’s Level II autonomy classification or Ready Now readiness status as a result of the financial disclosures. Functional performance at retail is unchanged; the risk is to sustained platform support over the product’s expected 3-5 year ownership window.
-
Roomba Combo Essential launches at $275 as iRobot budget 2-in-1
iRobot placed the Roomba Combo Essential (model j0700) into commercial distribution in early April 2024, available through Amazon, Best Buy, and iRobot.com at $275 MSRP.
Full assessment4 claims · 5 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIAssisted AutonomyHuman Readinessmoved by this entryReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score04055708561CapableWhat happenedThe unit introduced auto-dock mop-pad switching on an entry-level gyroscope platform, a feature previously absent below the $400 price tier. Buyers should note the product launched without cliff detection, a safety gap documented in iRobot's own product warnings and owner reports.
Bottom lineThe auto-dock mop-pad feature is genuine at this price tier; the navigation claims overstate the unit's spatial intelligence.
ImpactOn autonomy
- First gyroscope-only iRobot combo unit with auto-dock mop-pad switching at this price tier
- No LiDAR or camera; Level II classification consistent with prior Essential-series models
- Scheduled cleaning and app-based no-go zones available without spatial mapping
On readiness
- Available at major US retailers from launch; 10-15 minute setup confirmed by owner reports
- No cliff detection documented in product warnings; physical stair barriers required
- Companion app and voice assistant integration functional at launch per manufacturer documentation
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
2-in-1 vacuum and mop in one affordable unit
Documented findingAccurate: auto-dock switches between vacuum-only and combo modes without manual pad changes; water tank capacity limits continuous mop runs to 1-2 roomsSmart navigation adapts to your home
Documented findingGyroscope-based only; no room mapping or adaptive routing. Coverage in complex layouts is subject to gyro drift per owner reportsSame trusted iRobot platform
Documented findingVacuum base shares lineage with prior Essential models; mop integration is new to this SKU. No LiDAR, no cliff detection, no visual barrier recognitionEasy to set up and use
Documented findingOwner reports confirm 10-15 minute setup. App pairing reliable at launch; no documented widespread connectivity failures at releaseEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
124 Apr 202410 Apr 2024filed 10 Apr 2024- 1iRobot Press Release4 Apr 2024
- 2The Verge9 Apr 2024named, not linked
Technical notes5 sectionsModel and Availability
Model number j0700. Released commercially in April 2024 through iRobot.com, Amazon, and Best Buy at $275 MSRP. Price range at retail launch spanned $275-$329 depending on retailer and bundle.
Navigation Architecture
Gyroscope-based with basic wall detection and boundary compliance via companion app. No LiDAR, no camera, no vSLAM. Room mapping is not available; coverage patterns rely on internal momentum tracking.
Mop Integration
Auto-dock mop-pad system engages and retracts the mop pad at the charging base, eliminating manual pad installation. Water tank capacity: not specified in manufacturer documentation at launch; owner reports document 1-2 room coverage before refill. Mop pad vibrates at low frequency for light-to-medium soil.
Safety Notes at Launch
iRobot product documentation and user manual explicitly note the absence of cliff detection. Falls on unguarded stairs documented in owner reports prior to wide retail availability. Physical barriers recommended by manufacturer for multi-floor deployment.
Firmware
Ships with iRobot Essential Series firmware; OTA updates via iRobot Home app. No specific version number published at launch in available release notes.
-
iRobot cuts 350 staff as Amazon acquisition collapses
iRobot laid off approximately 350 employees (31% of its workforce) on January 29, 2024, the same day Amazon formally withdrew from its $1.7 billion acquisition agreement.
Full assessment3 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIAssisted AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score04055708561CapableWhat happenedThe cuts reduced engineering and software headcount directly responsible for firmware development across the Roomba lineup, including models slated for imminent release. Buyers and analysts should monitor update cadence for the Combo Essential over the following 12 months as an indicator of post-restructuring support commitment.
Bottom lineThe layoffs do not immediately impair the Combo Essential's function but reduce the organizational capacity behind its firmware and support lifecycle.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Reduced engineering headcount limits firmware development capacity for the Combo Essential
- No autonomy-class changes documented at time of cuts
- Future gyroscope-navigation improvements depend on a smaller software team
On readiness
- Commercial availability of planned budget Combo models unchanged short-term
- Long-term support and firmware update cadence became uncertain
- Customer service capacity reduced alongside engineering cuts
Claim check3 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
iRobot is a stable, long-term robotics platform
Documented findingCompany cut 31% of staff in a single day following acquisition collapse; going-concern risks surfaced in subsequent filingsFull product support lifecycle continues as planned
Documented findingReduced engineering team raises questions about update cadence; no specific Combo Essential support timeline issuedAmazon partnership signaled category validation
Documented findingAmazon withdrew citing regulatory pressure in the EU; the deal never closed, leaving iRobot without the capital injection it had anticipatedEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
1222 Jan 202429 Jan 2024filed 29 Jan 2024- 1iRobot Press Release22 Jan 2024
- 2The Verge29 Jan 2024named, not linked
Technical notes4 sections
Workforce Reduction
iRobot disclosed layoffs of approximately 350 employees on January 29, 2024, representing roughly 31% of its total headcount at the time. The cuts affected engineering, software, and operations functions globally.
Acquisition Context
Amazon had agreed to acquire iRobot for $1.7 billion in August 2022. The EU’s competition authority signaled likely objection in late 2023; Amazon and iRobot announced mutual termination of the agreement on January 29, 2024 (termination agreement dated January 28, 2024). iRobot had deferred internal investment decisions in anticipation of the deal closing.
Impact on Combo Essential
The Combo Essential (model j0700) was in final pre-release preparation at the time of the layoffs. No product cancellation was announced. Firmware engineering resources supporting the gyroscope-navigation stack were among the affected teams, though iRobot did not specify which product lines faced reduced support priority.
Financial Position
iRobot disclosed going-concern uncertainty in its 2023 annual filings, citing dependence on new financing to fund ongoing operations. A revolving credit facility was secured in early 2024 to maintain short-term liquidity.