- Changes
- 11
- Tracking since
- Mar 2023
- Latest
- Oct 30, 2026
- Net movement
- Classification stable
- 2026
-
Agility Robotics revises SPAC raise to $465 million ahead of public listing
Agility Robotics and its SPAC partner, Churchill Capital Corp XI, lowered the expected gross raise for their pending merger to about $465 million, down from $620 million at the June 2026 announcement.
Full assessment3 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedThe mix leans on a PIPE led by Foxconn and capital Agility already raised.
WatchingWhether shareholders approve the deal ahead of the targeted November 4 close and how AGLT trades after listing.
Bottom lineThe headline raise figure moved down, not up, ahead of a listing still subject to shareholder approval.
ImpactOn autonomy
- No capability change reported; Digit's autonomy classification remains Level III, Conditional Autonomy.
- The financing revision addresses capital structure only, not Digit's onboard software or hardware.
On readiness
- Commercial deployment status is unaffected by the SPAC financing terms announced October 30.
- Separately, Agility reports continued Digit 5 site expansion with GXO Logistics.
Claim check3 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Agility projected a roughly $620 million gross raise when the business combination was announced in June 2026
Documented findingThe companies revised the expected gross raise down to approximately $465 million before transaction expenses, per the October 30, 2026 disclosureAgility frames itself as set to become the first US publicly traded, pure-play humanoid supplier with commercial deployments
Documented findingTrade press coverage notes the company has not yet begun public trading; the listing is contingent on Churchill XI shareholder approval and a targeted November 4, 2026 closeA PIPE commitment led by Foxconn is presented alongside the raise as a sign of investor confidence
Documented findingThe PIPE contributes about $201 million of the $465 million total, alongside roughly $164 million from Churchill XI's trust and $100 million Agility had already raised in equityEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
- 1The Robot Report30 Oct 2026
- 2Churchill Capital Corp XI SEC Filing30 Oct 2026named, not linked
Technical notes3 sectionsRevised Raise Structure
Agility Robotics and Churchill Capital Corp XI disclosed on October 30, 2026 that the expected gross capital raise from their pending business combination has been revised to approximately $465 million before transaction expenses, down from the roughly $620 million Agility projected when the deal was first announced in June 2026. The updated total combines about $164 million held in Churchill XI’s trust account, a common-stock PIPE of roughly $201 million committed at $10 per share and led by Foxconn alongside other institutional investors, and $100 million of equity funding Agility had already received since the combination was announced.
Closing Timeline and Listing
The business combination is expected to close on November 4, 2026, subject to approval by Churchill XI shareholders. Once closed, the combined company’s stock is expected to begin trading on Nasdaq under the ticker AGLT, with Agility positioning itself as the first US publicly traded, pure-play humanoid supplier with commercial deployments.
Commercial Context
Separately, Agility has reported continued commercial progress for Digit 5, including an expansion at a GXO Logistics site, with broader deliveries targeted for 2027. The financing revision does not reflect a change to Digit’s autonomy classification, readiness status or Robovations score.
-
Agility Robotics expands Digit humanoid deployment to two more GXO Logistics sites
Agility Robotics and GXO Logistics said Digit will deploy to two more U.S. sites, Statesville, North Carolina and Lebanon, Tennessee, for tote-handling work starting in early 2027.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedThe expansion extends a partnership dating to 2023 and brings Digit's footprint to nine customer facilities and over 65,000 operating hours.
WatchingWhether the early-2027 start date holds and whether the 30-plus-customer pipeline converts to signed deployments.
Bottom lineThe announcement extends an existing three-year commercial relationship by two facilities rather than marking a new capability or a step change in deployment scale.
ImpactOn autonomy
- No new sensing, manipulation or navigation capability accompanies this deployment expansion
- Digit performs the same repetitive tote-handling routine already documented at existing GXO sites
- Fleet-wide operating hours now exceed 65,000 across nine committed customer facilities
On readiness
- Commercial footprint grows to nine confirmed facilities spanning logistics, automotive and manufacturing customers
- Two added GXO sites are expected to go live in early 2027
- Agility cites a pipeline of more than 30 prospective customers beyond today's commitments
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Agility and GXO describe the expansion as proof Digit is ready for large-scale warehouse rollouts
Documented findingThe joint statement names exactly two added facilities, with deployments not expected to begin until early 2027Agility counts a pipeline of more than 30 prospective customers
Documented findingOnly nine customer facilities are confirmed as deployed or committed as of this announcementThe companies tout Digit's track record across manufacturing and logistics
Documented findingThe companies attribute more than 65,000 cumulative operating hours to the fleet, spanning customers including Schaeffler, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada and Mercado LibreAgility frames its humanoid program as advancing rapidly alongside the newly unveiled Digit 5
Documented findingThis expansion deploys the current Digit v4 generation; Digit 5 remains in early access with no confirmed commercial deployment before 2027Evidence2 sources · all linked
- 1GXO Logistics and Agility Robotics joint press release26 Oct 2026
- 2The Robot Report26 Oct 2026
Technical notes3 sectionsExpansion Details
GXO Logistics and Agility Robotics announced on October 26, 2026 an expanded commercial agreement adding the Digit humanoid to two U.S. facilities: Statesville, North Carolina and Lebanon, Tennessee. Deployments are expected to begin in early 2027, with Digit handling repetitive material-handling work, primarily tote-handling, inside e-commerce fulfillment operations. The agreement builds on a GXO deployment relationship with Agility that began in 2023.
Fleet Scale
Agility states that the current-generation Digit (v4) is now deployed or committed across nine customer facilities total, with more than 65,000 cumulative hours of real-world operation logged. Named customers include Schaeffler, GXO, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada and Mercado Libre. Agility also cited three additional manufacturing customers and a stated pipeline of more than 30 prospective customers evaluating deployments.
Context
The announcement follows Agility’s September 15, 2026 unveiling of Digit 5, a next-generation, people-proximate design the company expects to reach early access in the first half of 2027. The GXO expansion described here uses the existing Digit v4 generation now in commercial service, not Digit 5.
-
Agility Robotics Expands GXO Partnership and NVIDIA Collaboration Ahead of Digit 5
Agility Robotics' own releases describe growing enterprise demand for Digit, an expanded GXO Logistics partnership meant to accelerate warehouse deployment, and a deepened NVIDIA collaboration as the company prepares Digit 5 for commercial-scale production.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedThe company also cited expanded Pittsburgh operations supporting existing customers. None of this is independently confirmed; watch for GXO deployment figures or third-party reporting on Digit 5's production timeline.
Bottom lineThese are first-party company announcements describing partnership and production expansion; independent confirmation of deployment scale and Digit 5's production timeline is not yet available.
ImpactOn autonomy
- GXO and NVIDIA agreements expand commercial scale, not documented autonomy capability.
- Preparations for Digit 5 do not alter the tracked Digit's Level III classification.
On readiness
- Expanded GXO deployment signals scaling production use, not a new readiness tier.
- Digit 5's commercial-scale timeline remains company-stated, with no independent shipping confirmation yet.
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Agility Robotics reports growing enterprise demand for Digit.
Documented findingThe demand figures and scope come only from the company's own release; no independent source confirms the scale.Agility and GXO Logistics say their expanded partnership will "accelerate" humanoid deployment in warehouse operations.
Documented findingThe joint release names two added sites, Statesville, North Carolina and Lebanon, Tennessee, with deployment beginning in early 2027 on the current Digit platform, migrating to Digit 5 once it is commercially available.Agility says its expanded NVIDIA collaboration readies Digit 5 for "commercial-scale production.
Documented findingDigit 5 remains pre-production; the robot's own record lists early access for the first half of 2027 and general availability by year-end.Agility describes its expanded Pittsburgh presence as supporting "growing customer deployments.
Documented findingThe release does not name which customers or how many additional deployments the facility supports.Evidence2 sources · all linked
2122 Oct 202626 Oct 2026filed 26 Oct 2026- 1Agility Robotics / GXO Logistics press release26 Oct 2026
- 2Agility Robotics press release22 Oct 2026
Technical notes3 sectionsGXO Logistics Partnership
In a press release dated October 26, 2026, Agility Robotics and GXO Logistics said they are expanding their partnership to accelerate deployment of humanoid robots in warehouse and logistics operations, adding sites in Statesville, North Carolina and Lebanon, Tennessee to support e-commerce fulfillment. Deployments are expected to begin in early 2027 on the current-generation Digit platform, migrating to Digit 5 once it becomes commercially available. The announcement builds on a 2024 multi-year agreement that put Digit into a live GXO warehouse in Flowery Branch, Georgia.
NVIDIA Collaboration and Digit 5
A separate release dated October 22, 2026, said Agility Robotics expanded its collaboration with NVIDIA as it prepares Digit 5, the next-generation platform, for commercial-scale production, with Digit 5 standardizing on NVIDIA IGX Thor for onboard compute. The robot’s own record lists Digit 5 as pre-production, with early access set for the first half of 2027 and general availability by year-end 2027. Agility has not published a date for when the NVIDIA-related engineering work concludes or when volume production begins.
Pittsburgh Facility Expansion
A press release dated October 21, 2026, said Agility Robotics expanded its Pittsburgh presence to support growing customer deployments. The release does not name which customers or deployment sites the expansion supports, and the company has not disclosed headcount or facility size figures.
-
Agility Robotics standardizes Digit 5 compute and safety on NVIDIA platforms
Agility Robotics said Digit 5 will standardize onboard compute on NVIDIA's IGX Thor module and adopt NVIDIA Halos for Robotics as its safety system.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedEarly access begins in the first half of 2027, with availability expanding over the next six to nine months for manufacturing and warehouse operators; no Digit 5 units have shipped yet, so that timeline is what to verify next.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Onboard compute standardized on NVIDIA IGX Thor for Digit 5's general-availability version
- Digit 5 adopts NVIDIA Halos for Robotics as its onboard safety system
- Current Digit record remains Level III; the compute switch applies only to Digit 5
On readiness
- Early access to Digit 5 begins in H1 2027 per the company's stated timeline
- Wider availability follows over six to nine months after early access starts
- No customer shipments of Digit 5 have occurred; this is a platform decision
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
NVIDIA collaboration "prepares Digit 5 for commercial scale
Documented findingThe press release states early access begins in the first half of 2027; no customer shipments have occurred yetNVIDIA IGX Thor named the exclusive onboard compute for Digit 5
Documented findingThe exclusivity claim applies to the general-availability version of Digit 5, a machine that has not shippedDigit 5 named first launch partner for NVIDIA Halos for Robotics safety platform
Documented findingA named partnership and platform choice, not an independent safety test resultCompute and safety upgrades position Digit 5 for factories and warehouses
Documented findingThe currently tracked Digit record remains classified at Level III, conditional autonomy in supervised warehouse settings; this entry documents a compute vendor and safety platform decision for an unreleased successor, not a change to that classificationEvidence2 sources · all linked
- 1GlobeNewswire (Agility Robotics press release)22 Oct 2026
- 2Agility Robotics22 Oct 2026
Technical notes4 sectionsCompute Standardization
Agility Robotics said Digit 5, the announced successor to the original Digit, will standardize its onboard compute on NVIDIA’s IGX Thor module. The company described NVIDIA as the exclusive onboard-compute provider for the general-availability version of Digit 5, expanding an existing collaboration between the two companies.
Safety Platform
Digit 5 is also incorporating NVIDIA Halos, specifically Halos for Robotics, into its safety system. Agility Robotics is named as a launch partner for that platform, which NVIDIA positions as a safety layer for robots operating around people in commercial settings.
Stated Timeline
Agility Robotics said early access to Digit 5 begins in the first half of 2027, with availability expanding over the following six to nine months for manufacturing, warehouse and distribution operators. No customer shipments of Digit 5 have occurred; the announcement describes a platform decision and a stated plan, not a completed commercial deployment.
Scope
The original Digit record tracked here remains classified at Level III, conditional autonomy in supervised warehouse settings. A compute vendor and safety platform choice for an unreleased successor does not change that classification.
-
Agility Robotics' Digit humanoid gets a manufacturing pilot with AGCO
AGCO and Agility Robotics agreed to pilot the Digit humanoid at AGCO's Hesston, Kansas manufacturing facility, with the pilot expected to begin in 2027.
Full assessment3 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedDigit is slated to sort and stack parts and place totes for storage, aimed at ergonomic safety and operational efficiency.
WatchingWhether the pilot stays on schedule and whether AGCO expands Digit's role beyond these initial tasks.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Autonomy level unchanged; pilot deploys existing capabilities in a new facility.
- Tasks assigned are parts sorting, stacking, and tote placement for storage.
On readiness
- AGCO becomes a named pilot customer outside Digit's existing warehouse logistics customers.
- Pilot start is planned for 2027, not an immediate production deployment.
Claim check3 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
AGCO and Agility Robotics describe the pilot as advancing smart manufacturing.
Documented findingThe agreement commits to a pilot beginning in 2027; no commercial deployment has started.The companies cite goals of ergonomic safety and operational efficiency.
Documented findingThe announcement does not specify measured output targets, unit counts, or cost terms for the pilot.Digit is positioned to perform parts sorting, stacking, and tote placement.
Documented findingThese are the same category of material-handling tasks Digit has performed in prior warehouse and logistics settings, not a newly demonstrated capability.Evidence2 sources · all linked
- 1PR Newswire20 Oct 2026
- 2Agility Robotics Press Release20 Oct 2026
Technical notes4 sectionsAgreement
AGCO, a maker of agricultural equipment, and Agility Robotics signed a commercial agreement for a pilot deployment of the Digit humanoid robot at AGCO’s manufacturing facility in Hesston, Kansas.
Timeline
The pilot is expected to begin in 2027. The announcement does not specify a pilot duration, unit count, or financial terms.
Scope of Work
In its initial phase, Digit is slated to support assembly and production operations at the Hesston facility, specifically parts sorting and stacking, and the intelligent placement of totes used for storage of parts and materials. AGCO and Agility Robotics describe the goals as improving ergonomic safety for workers on the production floor, raising operational efficiency, and freeing employees for higher-value tasks elsewhere in the plant.
Context
Digit is Agility Robotics’ bipedal humanoid platform, previously deployed in warehouse and logistics settings. This pilot extends its application into agricultural equipment manufacturing, a sector in which Agility Robotics has not previously announced a commercial pilot.
-
Agility Robotics SPAC Merger Clears SEC Review, Nyobolt Named Digit 5 Battery Partner
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission declared effective the S-4 registration statement for Agility Robotics' proposed business combination with Churchill Capital Corp XI, a step toward the company becoming publicly traded.
Full assessment3 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedDays later, Agility named Nyobolt as Digit 5's ultra-fast-charging battery technology partner, publishing a 90-minute runtime and a 9-minute charge time, a 10:1 run-to-charge ratio the company states is up from Digit 4's 2:1.
WatchingWhether the SPAC merger closes and whether this charging specification holds once Digit 5 ships.
Bottom lineThe SEC step is a corporate-structure development; the Nyobolt partnership is the first published duty-cycle spec tied to Digit 5, not yet an independently verified one.
ImpactOn autonomy
- SEC effectiveness advances a corporate merger; it does not alter Digit's software or capabilities.
- The named charging-battery partner changes Digit 5's run-to-charge ratio, a duty-cycle spec, not its autonomy level or task capability.
On readiness
- SEC clearance moves Agility Robotics toward public-company status, not toward commercial availability itself.
- Agility states early access begins in the first half of 2027, with availability expanding over the following six to nine months; this is a stated timeline, not a confirmed shipping date.
Claim check3 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Agility Robotics and Churchill Capital Corp XI announced a proposed business combination
Documented findingThe SEC has declared the S-4 registration statement effective, a procedural step; the merger itself has not closed and depends on a shareholder voteNyobolt named as Digit 5's ultra-fast charging battery technology partner
Documented findingAgility states the pairing delivers a 90-minute runtime on a 9-minute charge, a 10:1 run-to-charge ratio, versus a 2:1 ratio the company attributes to Digit 4SPAC structure positions Agility Robotics for a public listing
Documented findingA public listing is pending completion of the business combination and other customary closing conditions typical of SPAC mergersEvidence2 sources · all linked
1213 Oct 202615 Oct 2026filed 15 Oct 2026- 1Churchill Capital Corp XI SEC Form 8-K13 Oct 2026
- 2Agility Robotics15 Oct 2026
Technical notes3 sectionsSEC Registration Effectiveness
On October 13, 2026, Agility Robotics announced that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission had declared effective the S-4 registration statement filed in connection with its proposed business combination with Churchill Capital Corp XI, a special purpose acquisition company. Effectiveness of the S-4 is a procedural milestone in SPAC mergers that precedes a shareholder vote and closing; Churchill Capital Corp XI has since set an extraordinary general meeting for November 2, 2026 to vote on the combination. Agility is expected to trade under the ticker AGLT once the deal closes.
Battery Technology Partnership
On October 15, 2026, Agility Robotics named Nyobolt as its ultra-fast-charging battery technology partner for Digit 5, the successor humanoid robot the company unveiled previously. Agility states the resulting battery system delivers a 90-minute runtime on a 9-minute charge, a 10:1 run-to-charge ratio the company says is up from Digit 4’s 2:1, enabling more than 20 hours of work inside a 24-hour day through the combination of runtime and fast recharging. Agility states early access to Digit 5 begins in the first half of 2027, with availability expanding over the following six to nine months.
What Is Not Yet Documented
Neither release states when the proposed business combination is expected to close. The charging and runtime figures are the company’s own published specification; no independent test of Digit 5’s battery performance has been documented yet.
-
Agility Robotics unveils Digit 5, successor to warehouse humanoid Digit
Agility Robotics unveiled Digit 5 on 15 September 2026, the fifth Digit generation, adding a cage-free safety architecture, a 50-pound payload and a 9-minute recharge.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedAgility reports over $300 million in multi-year orders, but general availability for warehouse and manufacturing operators is not set until end of 2027.
WatchingWhether early 2027 deployments confirm the safety claims under real facility conditions.
Bottom lineDigit 5's safety architecture and specs are documented by Agility and corroborated in detail by press reporting, but deployment at scale remains more than a year out.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Digit 5 adds AI-driven human detection with automatic stop-and-squat responses
- Independent safety controller lowers the robot and cuts power near people
- Digit 5 is not yet independently classified on the Autonomy Ladder
- Tracked Digit record remains Level III pending its own reassessment
On readiness
- Early access for warehouse and manufacturing operators targeted for early 2027
- General availability for Digit 5 is not expected until end of 2027
- Agility plans its first deployments outside North America, in the EU and UK
- Agility reports over $300 million in multi-year customer orders as of May 2026
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Agility markets Digit 5 as its first functionally safe humanoid able to work beside people with no cages
Documented findingPress coverage reports the claim rests on a layered system: AI tracking, visual and auditory cues, and an independent controller that seats the robot and cuts power if a safe distance is not heldAgility cites a 50-pound payload, a 40% increase over Digit 4
Documented findingFigure comes from Agility's own spec sheet; no independent load test of Digit 5 has been publishedAgility frames Digit 5 as ready to scale industrial deployment now
Documented findingAgility's own timeline sets early access for the first half of 2027 and general availability only by the end of 2027Agility reports over $300 million in multi-year customer orders
Documented findingFigure reflects order commitments, not delivered or installed Digit 5 units; the cited deployment history, including GXO's 100,000-tote milestone, predates this generationEvidence2 sources · all linked
2115 Sep 202616 Sep 2026filed 15 Sep 2026- 1The Robot Report16 Sep 2026
- 2Ars Technica15 Sep 2026
Technical notes4 sectionsFifth-Generation Hardware
Digit 5 stands 5’11” (1.81 m) and weighs 284 lb (129 kg), with payload capacity raised to 50 lb, a 40% increase Agility attributes to redesigned, more human-proportioned legs replacing the earlier reverse-jointed design. Reach extends to 7.2 ft, up from 5.5 ft on Digit 4.
Power
Battery run time is rated at 90 minutes with a 9-minute recharge, a roughly 10:1 run-to-charge ratio Agility says supports over 20 hours of daily operation, versus a 2:1 ratio on Digit 4.
Safety Architecture
Agility chief technology officer Pras Velagapudi told a technology news outlet the robot runs a layered safe-motion system: AI-based human tracking that reroutes or halts the robot, visual and auditory presence cues, and an independent safety controller that lowers Digit 5 into a seated, power-cut posture if a safe distance is not maintained.
Deployment Context
Agility cites over $300 million in multi-year orders and prior deployments with GXO Logistics, Schaeffler, Amazon and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada on earlier Digit generations; Digit 5 early access is planned for the first half of 2027.
- 2024
-
Amazon deepens Agility Robotics investment and expands Digit warehouse pilots
Amazon confirmed an expanded investment in Agility Robotics alongside deployment of additional Digit units in Amazon fulfillment operations, reinforcing a relationship that combines financial backing with live operational validation.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment↑ moved by this entry03050717675PromisingWhat happenedThis dual investor-operator structure concentrates Digit's commercial risk and roadmap dependency on a single major partner.
WatchingWhether Agility secures additional independent enterprise customers to diversify beyond the Amazon relationship.
Bottom lineAmazon's dual role as investor and operator is a genuine commercial signal, though it concentrates Digit's near-term trajectory on one customer's strategic priorities.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Fleet expansion generates larger operational dataset for Agility autonomy improvement pipeline
- Amazon facility variety tests Level III envelope across multiple warehouse configurations
- No documented expansion of autonomy domain beyond supervised conditional picking tasks
On readiness
- Amazon investment confirms multi-year financial runway for Digit commercial roadmap
- Expanded fulfillment deployments increase reference site count for prospective enterprise buyers
- Concentration of deployments within one investor-operator increases single-customer risk
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Amazon deployment validates Digit as the standard for warehouse humanoids
Documented findingAmazon's deployment is live and confirmed; whether Digit will become a standard across Amazon's global network versus a contained pilot program was not documented at announcementAmazon investment confirms long-term commercial viability
Documented findingStrategic investment by a major operator is positive evidence; investment terms and whether Amazon holds preferred commercial rights were not publicly disclosedExpanded pilots demonstrate Digit's scalability
Documented findingAdditional facility deployments were confirmed; comparative performance data across facilities was not publicly releasedDigit moves over 100,000 totes in Amazon facilities
Documented findingAgility Robotics published this milestone figure in their own content; the timeframe and conditions were described on their site but not verified by independent auditEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
12Feb 2024Mar 2024filed 15 Mar 2024- 1Agility Robotics29 Feb 2024
- 2Reuters1 Mar 2024named, not linked
Technical notes3 sectionsInvestment and Deployment Structure
Amazon’s relationship with Agility Robotics combines the Amazon Industrial Innovation Fund investment with direct deployment of Digit units in Amazon fulfillment centers. This dual structure gives Amazon both financial exposure and operational data rights, while Agility gains sustained deployment scale needed to iterate on autonomy software.
Operational Milestone
Agility Robotics reported that Digit units across Amazon deployments moved over 100,000 totes as of approximately early 2024, cited in Agility’s own published content. This figure represents aggregate throughput across the Amazon deployment footprint rather than per-unit performance. Independent verification of this figure was not documented in third-party sources at the time of the announcement.
Facility Expansion
Additional Amazon fulfillment center locations were added to the Digit deployment program in 2024. The expanded footprint introduces greater variety in facility layout, floor surface, and workflow configuration compared to the initial single-facility pilot, providing broader real-world validation of Digit’s conditional autonomy at Level III.
- 2023
-
RoboFab opens as first dedicated humanoid robot manufacturing facility
Agility Robotics opened RoboFab, a purpose-built humanoid manufacturing facility in Salem, Oregon, marking the first dedicated production line for a bipedal robot in commercial deployment.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedThe facility targets annual output at a scale that could support expanded logistics partnerships beyond existing Amazon and GXO pilots.
WatchingWhether production throughput enables cost reductions that change the enterprise pricing model over the next 12-18 months.
Bottom lineRoboFab represents a genuine infrastructure milestone, but production volume and its downstream effect on pricing remain unverified in public disclosures.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Manufacturing scale does not directly expand Digit's autonomy envelope
- Software deployment pipeline gains dedicated testing infrastructure at RoboFab
- Higher unit volume enables fleet-wide telemetry collection to improve task models
On readiness
- Production facility reduces lead time risk for new enterprise deployment contracts
- Scale manufacturing signals sustained investment in commercial logistics track
- Enterprise buyers gain clearer supply-chain assurance for multi-unit commitments
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
RoboFab enables thousands of Digits per year
Documented findingAgility Robotics stated capacity targets in press releases; actual production figures for 2023-2024 were not publicly confirmed in detailFirst humanoid robot factory in the world
Documented findingNo competing facility with equivalent humanoid production scope was documented at the time; the claim appears accurate per industry coverageRoboFab accelerates commercial deployment timelines
Documented findingAmazon and GXO partnerships predate the facility; whether RoboFab directly accelerated new contracts is not documented in public operator statementsManufacturing investment validates the business model
Documented findingVenture investment (including Amazon Industrial Innovation Fund) supported the facility; breakeven on manufacturing costs was not disclosedEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
12Oct 2023Nov 2023filed 15 Nov 2023- 1Agility Robotics Press Release10 Oct 2023
- 2TechCrunch11 Oct 2023named, not linked
Technical notes3 sectionsFacility Overview
RoboFab is located in Salem, Oregon. Agility Robotics described it as the first purpose-built production facility for humanoid robots. The stated goal was a capacity of up to 10,000 units annually, though initial production targets were not publicly confirmed as met within the first year of operation.
Manufacturing Implications for Digit Hardware
The facility handles assembly, integration testing, and software provisioning for Digit units destined for commercial logistics deployments. Standardized production lines reduce variability in hardware tolerances compared to earlier prototype-phase builds. Joint assemblies and hydraulic systems are integrated under controlled conditions with post-assembly diagnostic protocols before shipment.
Software and Fleet Management
RoboFab also serves as a staging environment for Agility’s fleet management software, allowing pre-deployment configuration of task parameters for specific logistics operator requirements prior to site installation.
-
Agility Digit warehouse deployment expands to Amazon and GXO Logistics
Agility Robotics announced expanded deployment of Digit across Amazon and GXO Logistics warehouses, demonstrating sustained tote-handling operations at multiple sites.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment↑ moved by this entry03050717675PromisingBottom lineDigit transitioned from demonstration to measurable commercial operation at scale with documented customer deployments, though task scope remains narrowly defined and operator adoption selective.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Navigation and object manipulation within structured warehouse environments
- Door handling and dynamic obstacle avoidance in logistics facilities
- Repeat task execution in high-traffic warehouse zones
On readiness
- Commercial viability at scale now documented across multiple operators
- Capacity to integrate with existing warehouse workflows confirmed
- Operator confidence in reliability for tote-handling workloads demonstrated
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Digit is ready for large-scale warehouse automation
Documented findingDigit deployed at Amazon and GXO Logistics performing tote-handling. Scope limited to specific task types in structured warehouse environments per deployment announcements.Humanoid robots can replace human warehouse workers
Documented findingDigit performs targeted tote-handling tasks alongside human operators. Deployment framed as augmentation, not replacement, in logistics industry reports.Digit's agility enables general-purpose warehouse work
Documented findingCurrent deployments focused on tote transfer tasks. Complex bin organization, damaged package handling, and unstructured areas still require human workers.Multiple warehouse operators racing to adopt Digit
Documented findingTwo major logistics operators (Amazon, GXO Logistics) confirmed deploying Digit. Industry adoption remains selective rather than widespread across sector.Evidence2 sources · all linked
- 1Agility Robotics Official18 Oct 2023
- 2Supply Chain Brain18 Oct 2023
Technical notes3 sectionsDeployment Details
Digit units now operating at Amazon and GXO Logistics warehouse facilities performing tote-handling tasks in production operations. Task scope includes transfer of totes between conveyor systems and staging areas in structured warehouse layouts.
Operational Environment
Deployments in climate-controlled warehouse facilities with known layouts and minimal unstructured obstacles. Floor surfaces optimized for wheeled and bipedal locomotion. Operator interface allows human supervisors to monitor and intervene on deployed units.
Capability Parameters
Digit payload capacity limited to standard warehouse totes (approximately 15-25 lbs per unit design spec). Cycle times and throughput metrics not disclosed in public announcements. Uptime and failure modes during extended warehouse operations remain proprietary to customer deployments.
-
Next-generation Digit hardware revealed with hands and expressive head
Agility Robotics demonstrated a next-generation Digit equipped with multi-fingered articulated hands and an LED expressive head display, departing from the simplified gripper and headless torso of initial commercial units.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717675PromisingWhat happenedArticulated hands expand the manipulation task envelope and are required for handling object types the original gripper could not manage.
WatchingWhether the hand hardware reaches deployed units and whether Agility documents its effect on picking accuracy or task failure rates.
Bottom lineThe hardware revision represents a real capability advance in manipulation range, though production deployment timing and measured performance data were not disclosed at the demo event.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Articulated hands expand graspable object types beyond the fixed-gripper prior design
- LED head display provides proximity signaling for human-robot interaction in shared spaces
- Manipulation capability increases potential task scope within conditional Level III envelope
- Hand dexterity does not yet extend operational domain beyond supervised warehouse settings
On readiness
- Hardware revision signals active development roadmap, positive for enterprise buyer confidence
- Hands required for broader object-type compatibility in picking workflows
- Deployment timeline for revised hardware in production units was not confirmed at reveal
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
New hands enable Digit to handle any warehouse object
Documented findingAgility demonstrated specific object types at the event; comprehensive object-handling documentation was not published at revealExpressive head improves human-robot collaboration
Documented findingThe LED head provides visual status signals for proximate workers; cognitive or behavioral collaboration improvements were not quantified in published materialsNext-gen hardware immediately improves deployed unit capability
Documented findingThe reveal was of a design iteration; retrofit timeline for existing GXO and Amazon fleet units was not confirmed at the announcementHand dexterity approaches human-level manipulation
Documented findingDemonstrated tasks show meaningful improvement over fixed gripper; comparison to human hand manipulation speed and precision was not publishedEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
- 1Engadget20 Sep 2023
- 2CNET20 Sep 2023named, not linked
Technical notes3 sections
Hardware Changes
The next-generation Digit design introduced multi-fingered articulated hands replacing the simplified hook-and-gripper end effectors used in initial commercial units. The hands allow grasping of irregular or smaller object forms that fixed grippers cannot accommodate in warehouse picking tasks. Finger count and actuation method were demonstrated at the reveal event; detailed joint specifications were not published in accompanying technical documentation.
Expressive Head
An LED matrix display head was added to the torso, providing visual status and directional indicators visible to nearby workers. The head serves both safety signaling and proximity communication functions in shared human-robot floor environments. Earlier commercial deployments operated without an external head display, relying on overhead safety lighting and floor markings for worker awareness.
Structural Updates
Agility indicated updated joint and limb geometry in the next-generation design, though specific changes to hydraulic actuation architecture or power system were not detailed at the demo. The revised design maintains bipedal locomotion and is compatible with existing Agility fleet management infrastructure.