Skip to content
Saved

Goal-based/Robot Lawn Mowers/4 robots compared/Reviewed Jun 2026

Robot mowers for detached lawns: zones, transport paths, and second docks

Transport path is the structural differentiator.Only the Segway Navimow X4 documents a transport-path feature for crossing between detached areas. The other three mowers have no published architecture for driveway crossings; a second dock would be required.
Segway Navimow X4View recordSegwayIVX4
Greenworks AiMowbot C20ZView recordGreenworksIIIAiMowbot C20Z
Mammotion YUKA 3000View recordMammotionIVYUKA 3000
Mammotion Yuka 1500View recordMammotionIVYuka 1500
Full specifications20 measurements · 62 of 80 documented
MSRP
$2,499
$1,299.99
$2,099
$1,599
Rated runtime
110 min
60 min
Not documented
150 min
Charge time
90 min
Not documented
Not documented
90 min
Battery capacity
300 Wh
Not documented
Not documented
97 Wh
Battery type
Li-ion
Li-ion
Not documented
Li-ion
Noise level
68 dB
54 dB
Not documented
60 dB
Navigation
EFLS 3.0 tri-frequency Network RTK with 360 degree VSLAM and visual-inertial odometry, app-drawn virtual boundaries (no perimeter wire, no reference station), VisionFence 360 degree RGB and time-of-flight obstacle recognition, rain-pause scheduling, lift and tilt cutoffs
RTK GPS + on-board vision + 4WD drive.
RTK-GNSS + camera vision with AI obstacle avoidance
RTK satellite positioning + 3D stereo vision obstacle avoidance
Connectivity
wifi, matter
wifi, bluetooth, cellular
wifi, cellular
wifi, bluetooth, cellular
Dimensions (W×D×H)
25.6 × 21.7 × 11 in
Not documented
25.5 × 20.4 × 13 in
Not documented
Weight
63.7 lbs
Not documented
36 lbs
78 lbs
Readiness
Ready Now
Not documented
Ready Now
Ready Now
Released
Feb 2026
Mar 2026
Jan 2025
Jul 2024
Cutting width
17 in
20 in
Not documented
12.6 in
Blade system
Dual-disc, 12-blade deck
Not documented
2 cutting discs
Pivoting razor blades, replace-only consumables
Drive layout
Four-wheel drive
Four-wheel drive
Rear-wheel drive
Rear-wheel drive
Boundary method
Wire-free, EFLS 3.0 network RTK with 360-degree VSLAM
RTK with vision, wire-free
Wire-free, RTK-GNSS with camera vision
Wire-free, RTK satellite virtual boundary
Max slope
84%
45%
45%
53%
Cutting height range
0.8-4 in
0.8-3.5 in
Not documented
1.2-3.9 in
Max speed
Not documented
0.9 mph
Not documented
Not documented
Max area
Not documented
21,800 sq ft
32,700 sq ft
16,100 sq ft
01/05

How many independent zones can each mower save?

Zone count is the first gate for split-property owners. A mower that supports only one mapped area cannot serve a front yard and a back yard as separate, independently scheduled territories.

Where they differSegway Navimow X4 — Independent zone support: Multi-zone (manufacturer documented)
EvidenceSegway Navimow X4Greenworks AiMowbot C20ZMammotion YUKA 3000Mammotion Yuka 1500
Independent zone supportMulti-zone (manufacturer documented)DiffersNot documentedNot documentedMulti-zone (autonomy justification)
Zone scheduling (separate times)Yes (per manufacturer)Not documentedNot documentedNot documented
Boundary methodRTK virtual or hybrid wireRTK virtual onlyRTK virtual onlyRTK + 3D vision
Sources & evidence
Segway Navimow X4 product documentation

Segway Navimow X4 manufacturer documentation explicitly lists multi-zone area programming as a feature alongside hybrid virtual and wire-based boundary support.

Robovations product record, Mammotion Yuka 1500

Mammotion Yuka 1500 autonomy-ladder justification on Robovations references multi-zone operation in defined residential environments; no separate per-zone scheduling specification was documented.

Greenworks and Mammotion product documentation, accessed June 2026

Greenworks AiMowbot C20Z and Mammotion YUKA 3000 manufacturer pages reviewed for this comparison do not publish a specific multi-zone count or per-zone scheduling specification.

02/05

Can the mower cross a driveway between two detached areas?

Crossing a driveway is a structural test: the mower must either follow a programmed transport path on a hard surface or require a second dock in the detached area. These are different architectural answers.

Where they differSegway Navimow X4 — Transport path feature: Supported (manufacturer documented)
EvidenceSegway Navimow X4Greenworks AiMowbot C20ZMammotion YUKA 3000Mammotion Yuka 1500
Transport path featureSupported (manufacturer documented)DiffersNot documentedNot documentedNot documented
Second dock required for detached areaNot required with transport pathUnknownUnknownUnknown
RTK accuracy on hard surface transit2-5 cm (open sky)Not specified for transitNot specified for transitNot specified for transit
Sources & evidence
TechRadar, Segway Navimow exec interview, accessed June 2026

TechRadar's coverage of the Navimow X4 platform documents the crab-walk pivot mechanism as an engineering solution for precise turns, relevant for transport-path fidelity across hard surfaces.

TechRadar, Segway Navimow X3 Series review, accessed June 2026

Segway Navimow X4 manufacturer and press documentation confirms multi-zone area programming with transport path support; the X3 platform review on TechRadar provides corroborating platform context.

Greenworks and Mammotion product documentation, June 2026

Neither Greenworks AiMowbot C20Z, Mammotion YUKA 3000, nor Mammotion Yuka 1500 manufacturer pages or reviewed press documentation describe a driveway-crossing transport path feature.

03/05

What is each mower's coverage ceiling per charge?

Front and back yards together may double a typical single-area coverage demand. A mower that exhausts its battery mid-transit or requires a mid-session recharge complicates detached-lawn operation.

Where they differSegway Navimow X4 — Coverage per charge (manufacturer): 6+ acres
EvidenceSegway Navimow X4Greenworks AiMowbot C20ZMammotion YUKA 3000Mammotion Yuka 1500
Coverage per charge (manufacturer)6+ acresDiffers~0.4-0.5 acres0.5-1 acreNot published
Runtime (minutes)180 min60 minNot published150 min
Battery capacity (Wh)2600 WhNot publishedNot published512 Wh
Sources & evidence
Segway Navimow X4 manufacturer documentation

Segway Navimow X4 product record lists 2600 Wh battery capacity and 180-minute runtime; manufacturer coverage claim is 6+ acres per charge cycle, documented in Robovations product record.

Greenworks Tools product page, accessed June 2026

Greenworks AiMowbot C20Z manufacturer page cites 60-minute runtime and 0.4-0.5 acre coverage on standard grass; battery capacity not published.

Mammotion Yuka 1500 product documentation

Mammotion Yuka 1500 manufacturer specification lists 512 Wh and 150-minute runtime; per-charge acre coverage not explicitly documented. YUKA 3000 runtime and battery capacity are not published.

04/05

Does the dock architecture require a second unit for detached areas?

Detached yards separated by a driveway present a charging-location problem. If a mower cannot cross to a second dock, or cannot carry enough charge to complete both areas from one dock, a second dock becomes a system requirement.

Where they differMammotion YUKA 3000 — Self-emptying dock available: Yes (included)
EvidenceSegway Navimow X4Greenworks AiMowbot C20ZMammotion YUKA 3000Mammotion Yuka 1500
Second dock supported (manufacturer)Not documented; transport path reduces needNot documentedNot documentedNot documented
Self-emptying dock availableNoNoYes (included)DiffersOptional ($400-500 module)
Dock transmitter typeRTK base stationRTK base stationRTK base stationRTK base station
Sources & evidence
Mammotion YUKA 3000 product documentation, accessed June 2026

Mammotion YUKA 3000 manufacturer documentation lists a self-emptying sweeper station as part of the base product; this is structurally distinct among the four compared mowers.

Mammotion Yuka 1500 product FAQ, Robovations product record

Mammotion Yuka 1500 offers an optional sweeper/collector module at approximately $400-500 as documented in its product FAQ; the base unit uses a standard charging dock.

Segway, Greenworks, Mammotion product documentation, June 2026

None of the four mowers explicitly documents a second-dock pairing capability for detached areas in reviewed manufacturer or press materials; the X4 transport-path feature is the only documented architectural answer to detached zones.

05/05

What is the price and autonomy level for each mower?

The four mowers span two autonomy levels and a $800 price range. Understanding where each sits on the Autonomy Ladder clarifies what the navigation architecture actually delivers, independent of marketing.

EvidenceSegway Navimow X4Greenworks AiMowbot C20ZMammotion YUKA 3000Mammotion Yuka 1500
MSRP$2,499$1,299.99$2,099$1,599
Autonomy Level (Robovations)Level IV (Environmental Autonomy)Level III (Conditional Autonomy)Level IV (Environmental Autonomy)Level IV (Environmental Autonomy)
Navigation architectureRTK (2-5 cm) + hybrid wire fallbackRTK + on-board vision + 4WDRTK-GNSS + AI visionRTK + 3D stereo vision
Weight (lbs)63.7 lbsNot publishedNot published78 lbs
Sources & evidence
Robovations product records, accessed June 2026

Segway Navimow X4 is classified at Level IV; Greenworks AiMowbot C20Z at Level III. The C20Z degrades in RTK signal loss to dock-return mode without autonomous continuation, which caps its ladder position.

Mammotion product documentation; Robovations product records

Mammotion YUKA 3000 ($2,099) and Yuka 1500 ($1,599) are both classified at Level IV. Their autonomous fallback behavior on signal dropout is not fully documented in manufacturer materials.

In closing

What the evidence shows

Patterns that emerged across the questions above.

01

Transport path is the structural differentiator

Only the Segway Navimow X4 documents a transport-path feature for crossing between detached areas. The other three mowers have no published architecture for driveway crossings; a second dock would be required.

02

Zone count documentation is sparse across the category

Multi-zone support is explicitly documented only for the X4 and referenced (without per-zone scheduling detail) for the Yuka 1500. Greenworks and YUKA 3000 buyers should verify current app capabilities before assuming multi-zone scheduling.

03

Autonomy level and coverage capacity diverge from price

Three of four mowers are classified at Level IV, but per-charge coverage ranges from 0.5 acres to 6+ acres. Coverage ceiling, not autonomy classification, is the binding constraint for owners managing two detached lawn areas.

Common questions

What readers ask about this comparison.

Q.
Which of these mowers can cross a driveway between front and back yards?
The Segway Navimow X4 documents a transport-path feature enabling programmed crossing between detached areas. No reviewed manufacturer documentation for the Greenworks AiMowbot C20Z, Mammotion YUKA 3000, or Mammotion Yuka 1500 describes this capability. Owners of the other three should verify the current app version before purchasing for a split-property setup.
Q.
Do any of these mowers support more than one independent mowing zone?
The Navimow X4 explicitly documents multi-zone area programming. The Mammotion Yuka 1500 autonomy assessment references multi-zone operation, though per-zone scheduling detail is not published. Greenworks and YUKA 3000 do not publish a zone count in reviewed materials.
Q.
Is a second dock required to mow a front and back yard separately?
For mowers without a transport-path feature, a second dock in the detached area is one architectural solution. The X4’s transport path reduces this need. For the others, current manufacturer documentation does not address second-dock pairing, so buyers should contact support before purchasing.
Q.
How does the Greenworks AiMowbot C20Z compare to the Mammotion mowers in autonomy?
The C20Z is classified at Level III (Conditional Autonomy): it returns to dock on RTK signal loss and does not continue autonomously. Both Mammotion mowers are classified at Level IV. Level IV on the Ladder reflects documented capability to complete full sessions within known environments under normal operating conditions.
Q.
Which mower covers the most area per charge?
The Navimow X4 is documented at 6+ acres per charge (180-minute runtime, 2600 Wh). The Yuka 1500 lists 150 minutes and 512 Wh; the C20Z lists 60 minutes and roughly 0.4-0.5 acres. YUKA 3000 runtime and battery capacity are not published. For two detached areas totaling more than 0.5 acres, the X4 has the only documented coverage headroom.
Next up

Sunseeker S4 vs Greenworks C20Z vs Segway i215 vs Airseekers Tron

Read the comparison
Comparison ID: RV–CMP–7485 · Last reviewed Jun 23, 2026 · Based on owner reports, manufacturer documentation, and firmware release notes