Skip to content
Saved

Expectation vs reality/Multi-Task Robots/4 robots compared/Reviewed Jun 23, 2026

Home robots shipping vs still in demo: what’s actually available?

5 claims tested3 hold only partly and 2 diverge from the record.

The manufacturers document too few of the same measurements to compare these machines.

Claims under test

5 marketing claims, measured against documented evidence

Each claim below pairs the marketing language with what owner reports, demos, and engineering documentation actually show. The meter summarizes how far each claim sits from the evidence.

3 Partial2 Diverges
Claim 01 / 05

Consumer availability for home purchase

Diverges

Only one ships; three are unavailable by invite, delay, or concept status

What marketing promises

A home robot you can order and receive, usable in your household today

Composite from Amazon Astro Day 1 Edition, Samsung Ballie CES materials, LG CES 2026 debut, LG Q9 Korea launch · 2020-2026

What the evidence shows

Of the four platforms, only one is shipping to consumers: the LG Q9, restricted to South Korea since September 2025. Amazon Astro remains invite-only four years after its 2022 launch. Samsung Ballie has not shipped to anyone six years after its CES 2020 announcement. LG CLOiD is a CES 2026 concept with no pre-order or production date.

LG Q9 availability
Korea only, subscription
Amazon Astro availability
Invite-only, US only
Samsung Ballie availability
Not shipped anywhere
LG CLOiD availability
Concept stage, no date
Global consumer purchase path
None of the four
Claim 02 / 05

Autonomous navigation and mapping capability

Partial

LG Q9 supported; Astro's odometry-only architecture contradicts multi-room autonomy claims; Ballie and CLOiD undisclosed

What marketing promises

Robot navigates your home autonomously, avoiding obstacles and mapping rooms

Amazon Astro product page 2022; LG Q9 manufacturer docs 2025; Samsung Ballie CES 2020 demo footage; LG CLOiD CES 2026 presentation

What the evidence shows

The LG Q9 documents LiDAR and camera-based multi-room mapping in manufacturer specs, with Level III classification supported by end-to-end task execution without teleoperator involvement. Amazon Astro uses wheel odometry without LiDAR or visual SLAM; owner reports document navigation drift and collision with stationary objects. Samsung Ballie and LG CLOiD have not published their navigation architectures.

LG Q9 navigation
LiDAR + camera, documented
Astro navigation
Wheel odometry, no SLAM
Astro owner-reported drift
Frequent, documented
Ballie navigation spec
Not published
CLOiD navigation spec
Not published
Claim 03 / 05

Practical task execution in real homes

Diverges

Scripted demos and limited owner data do not corroborate reliable real-home task execution for three of four platforms

What marketing promises

Robot performs practical household tasks reliably in everyday home environments

Amazon Astro launch video and press materials 2022; LG CLOiD CES 2026 arm demonstration; LG Q9 manufacturer feature page 2025

What the evidence shows

Amazon Astro's documented task set covers light object retrieval and Alexa integration; owner reports describe slow manipulation cycles and frequent task failures outside scripted scenarios. LG CLOiD's CES footage shows scripted arm sequences in controlled conditions; adaptive performance across real-home variation is not corroborated. LG Q9's multi-task capability is documented by the manufacturer, with early Korean adopters providing early-signal but not longitudinal data. Samsung Ballie has demonstrated no task execution in a shipping product.

Astro arm cycle time
15-30 sec per object move
CLOiD task footage
Scripted demo only
LG Q9 task evidence
Manufacturer-documented, Korea early signal
Ballie task evidence
None in shipping product
Adaptive real-home data
Absent for three of four
Claim 04 / 05

Pricing transparency and total cost

Partial

Astro price documented; three platforms have no disclosed pricing, making total-cost evaluation impossible

What marketing promises

Pricing information is available so buyers can evaluate total cost before purchasing

Amazon Astro Day 1 Edition listing 2022; Samsung Ballie press materials 2020-2026; LG CLOiD CES 2026 release; LG Q9 Korea launch 2025

What the evidence shows

Amazon Astro's invite-only price of $1,599 is documented. All other platforms have not disclosed pricing. Samsung Ballie has no announced price six years after announcement. LG CLOiD has no disclosed price. LG Q9 is available in Korea under a subscription model; subscription tier pricing for international markets and hardware cost are not published in English documentation.

Amazon Astro MSRP
$1,599 (invite-only)
Samsung Ballie price
Not announced
LG CLOiD price
Not announced
LG Q9 international price
Not published
LG Q9 subscription cost
Korea tier; English docs absent
Claim 05 / 05

Commercial momentum and active development

Partial

LG Q9 shows commercial momentum; Astro and Ballie show no active roadmap; CLOiD remains concept

What marketing promises

Active development with clear roadmap toward consumer launch

Amazon Astro internal messaging 2022-2026; Samsung Ballie CES update cycle 2020-2022; LG Q9 developer portal 2025; LG CLOiD CES 2026

What the evidence shows

Amazon Astro has not received major firmware updates or hardware revisions since 2022; technology press coverage characterizes it as in maintenance mode. Samsung Ballie last received a substantive announcement before 2022; no roadmap update has been published since. LG Q9 is the sole platform with documented commercial momentum: September 2025 shipping, developer portal, and stated US expansion plans. LG CLOiD is at concept stage with no announced pilot program.

Astro major updates post-2022
None documented
Ballie roadmap update
None post-2022
LG Q9 momentum
Shipping, developer portal live
LG Q9 US expansion
Stated, not deployed
CLOiD pilot program
Not announced

Per-product rollup

How each platform’s claims hold up

Every claim, resolved per product against documented evidence.

ClaimAmazon AstroSamsung BallieLG CLOiDLG Q9 AI Agent
Consumer availability for home purchaseInvite-onlyNever shippedConcept onlyKorea only
Autonomous navigation and mapping capabilityOdometry onlyUndisclosedUndisclosedLiDAR documented
Practical task execution in real homesNarrow, slowNo productScripted demoEarly signal
Pricing transparency and total cost$1,599 documentedNo priceNo priceSubscription, Korea
Commercial momentum and active developmentMaintenance modeNo roadmapCES debut, no dateShipping, active

Common questions

What readers ask about this comparison.

Q.
Can I buy any of these home robots in the United States right now?
No. Amazon Astro is US-only but invite-only; standard purchase unavailable. Samsung Ballie and LG CLOiD have no shipping product anywhere. LG Q9 AI Agent ships in South Korea only; no US SKU or date published as of June 2026.
Q.
Which robot is closest to being a real consumer product?
LG Q9 AI Agent only: launched South Korea September 2025, has developer portal, LG stated US expansion plans. All others are invitation-locked, concept-stage, or have no active shipping roadmap per manufacturer disclosures.
Q.
Why hasn't Samsung Ballie shipped after six years?
Samsung has not published a reason or revised roadmap. Last substantive update predates 2022. Technology press tracks repeated missed windows; Samsung has not disclosed whether obstacles are engineering, supply chain, or market-fit.
Q.
What does the LG Q9's subscription model gate?
LG Korean documentation describes basic docking and light navigation as included; advanced task planning, cloud object recognition, and full multi-room autonomy require paid tier. International pricing and exact feature gates unpublished in English as of June 2026.
Q.
Is Amazon Astro ever going to ship for general purchase?
Amazon has not announced a timeline beyond invite-only access. No major firmware updates or hardware revisions documented since 2022. Technology press characterizes it as maintenance mode; no consumer-release roadmap issued.
Next up

Which home robots still rely on a human teleoperator?

Read the comparison
Comparison ID: RV–CMP–7436 · Last reviewed Jun 23, 2026 · Based on owner reports, manufacturer documentation, and firmware release notes