Skip to content
Saved

Expectation vs reality/Robot Vacuums/4 robots compared/Reviewed Sep 9, 2026

Do budget robot vacuum marketing claims match the evidence?

5 claims tested1 holds up as written, 3 hold only partly and 1 diverges from the record.
iRobot Roomba e5View recordiRobotIIe5
eufy RoboVac G30View recordEufyIIRoboVac G30
Shark ION Robot 750View recordSharkIIION Robot 750
Full specifications16 measurements · 53 of 64 documented
MSRP
$549
$449
$399
$349
Rated runtime
120 min
90 min
100 min
60 min
Charge time
390 min
120 min
300 min
300 min
Battery capacity
Not documented
26 Wh
37 Wh
40 Wh
Battery type
Not documented
Li-ion
Li-ion
Li-ion
Suction power
21,000 Pa
Not documented
2,000 Pa
Not documented
Noise level
Not documented
70 dB
55 dB
64 dB
Navigation
High-speed LiDAR mapping, with line lasers and edge sensors for obstacle recognition. An ultrasonic sensor identifies hard floors against carpet and a piezo sensor counts and sizes dust particles to adjust suction. The MyDyson app stores an editable map and accepts no-go zones and do-not-disturb periods.
iAdapt 2.0 sensor-based bump-and-turn with cliff sensors, no mapping
Gyroscope + Smart Dynamic Navigation wall/edge detection.
Smart Sensor infrared navigation with adaptive row coverage; no LiDAR and no persistent room mapping.
Connectivity
wifi
wifi
wifi
wifi, alexa
Dimensions (W×D×H)
13.86 × 13.86 × 3.78 in
13.7 × 13 × 3.5 in
13 × 13 × 2.9 in
12.6 × 12.6 × 2.6 in
Weight
7.5 lbs
7.9 lbs
6 lbs
5.08 lbs
Form factor
round
round
Not documented
Not documented
Released
Not documented
Sep 2018
Mar 2020
Sep 2017
Threshold climb
1.57 in
0.6 in
0.6 in
Not documented
Dock type
Bagless auto-empty, 90-day capacity
Not documented
Charge-only dock, no self-emptying
Charge-only dock, no self-emptying
Onboard dustbin
Not documented
500 mL
600 mL
380 mL

Claims under test

5 marketing claims, measured against documented evidence

Each claim below pairs the marketing language with what owner reports, demos, and engineering documentation actually show. The meter summarizes how far each claim sits from the evidence.

1 Matches3 Partial1 Diverges
Claim 01 / 05

Intelligent navigation delivers full-home coverage

Partial

Three of four classify at Level II with no persistent room map; the R1 publishes one

What marketing promises

Each brand's launch materials describe onboard navigation systems as intelligent, adaptive, or systematic enough to clean an entire home without missed spots.

iRobot (Sept 2018), eufy (2020), Shark (Sept 2017), Dyson (Sept 2026) launch materials

What the evidence shows

Three of the four cap autonomy at Level II, and their own published guidance states that coverage of larger or reconfigured layouts cannot be confirmed. The Dyson R1 is the exception: Dyson publishes LiDAR mapping with line lasers and persistent no-go zones, which places it at Level III.

iRobot e5 navigation
Random bump-and-turn, no map
eufy G30 navigation
Gyroscope zones, no SLAM
Shark ION 750 navigation
Infrared rows, no map
Dyson R1 navigation
LiDAR mapping, line lasers, no-go zones
Claim 02 / 05

Connectivity guarantees lasting brand support

Diverges

Three of four carry documented setbacks naming reduced or ended support

What marketing promises

Wi-Fi connectivity and companion apps are marketed as an ongoing, evolving smart-home investment that stays supported well past the purchase date.

iRobot e5 (Sept 2018), eufy G30 (2020), Shark ION 750 (Sept 2017) launch marketing

What the evidence shows

iRobot's 2024 investor disclosures excluded the e5 from its forward roadmap; eufy retired the RoboVac name as Clean-branded models replaced it; Shark's Matrix and PowerDetect expansion left the ION 750 without an active development channel.

iRobot e5 status
Excluded from 2024 roadmap
eufy G30 status
RoboVac naming retired
Shark ION 750 status
Superseded, no active line
Dyson R1 status
Launched Sept 2026, no history
Claim 03 / 05

App and voice control work as advertised

Matches

Confirmed on all four records; no subscription required in any of them

What marketing promises

App-based scheduling, remote start, and voice-assistant control are marketed as core, subscription-free features available right out of the box.

iRobot e5, eufy G30, Shark ION 750 product listings; Dyson R1 launch materials

What the evidence shows

Product records confirm Wi-Fi, app scheduling, and voice-assistant pairing (Alexa or Google Assistant) for three of the four, with no subscription requirement noted. Dyson lists Wi-Fi and MyDyson app control for the R1, again with no subscription named, though voice-assistant support is not stated for it.

iRobot e5 connectivity
Wi-Fi, Alexa, Google Assistant
eufy G30 connectivity
Wi-Fi app scheduling
Shark ION 750 connectivity
Wi-Fi, Alexa
Dyson R1 connectivity
Wi-Fi, MyDyson app scheduling
Claim 04 / 05

Anti-tangle hardware ends pet-hair maintenance

Partial

Anti-tangle hardware exists on three; eufy's own record confirms tangling

What marketing promises

Redesigned brushes and side sweepers are marketed as solving hair wrap so pet-owning households spend less time on manual maintenance.

Dyson Nurovi launch materials (Sept 2026); iRobot e5 and Shark ION 750 product listings

What the evidence shows

Dyson's redesigned sweepers and iRobot's brushless rubber rolls are documented as reducing tangle risk, and Shark markets a self-cleaning brushroll, but eufy's own record lists tangling as an unresolved limitation with no comparable hardware claim.

Dyson R1 hardware
Redesigned side sweepers
iRobot e5 hardware
Rubber brush rolls, no tangle
eufy G30 hardware
Standard brush, tangling documented
Shark ION 750 hardware
Self-cleaning brushroll
Claim 05 / 05

Lower price with no capability trade-off

Partial

The price gap is real, and so is the missing room-level autonomy below $549

What marketing promises

Entry pricing well below mapped, LiDAR-equipped competitors is positioned as a smart-home cleaning solution without giving up meaningful autonomy.

Dyson, iRobot, eufy, and Shark launch pricing, 2017 to 2026

What the evidence shows

Published guidance across three of the four confirms the same trade: room-specific targeting, persistent maps, and resume-after-charge are absent from $349 to $449. The R1 breaks it at $549 with published LiDAR mapping and no-go zones, though Dyson does not state whether it resumes an unfinished map after a recharge.

Dyson R1 price and gap
$549, LiDAR mapping published
iRobot e5 price and gap
$449, no zone targeting
eufy G30 price and gap
$399, no persistent map
Shark ION 750 price and gap
$349, no room memory

Per-product rollup

How each platform’s claims hold up

Every claim, resolved per product against documented evidence.

ClaimDyson R1 Nurovi DryiRobot Roomba e5eufy RoboVac G30Shark ION Robot 750
Intelligent navigation delivers full-home coverageLiDAR mapping publishedRandom bump-and-turnGyroscope zones onlyInfrared rows only
Connectivity guarantees lasting brand supportNo history yetExcluded from roadmapNaming retiredSuperseded, no line
App and voice control work as advertisedWi-Fi app, no subscriptionConfirmed, no subscriptionWi-Fi scheduling confirmedWi-Fi and Alexa
Anti-tangle hardware ends pet-hair maintenanceUntested hardwareNo tangle riskTangling documentedSelf-cleaning brushroll
Lower price with no capability trade-off$549, mapping published$449, no targeting$399, no persistence$349, no memory

Common questions

What readers ask about this comparison.

Q.
Does the eufy RoboVac G30 still receive parts and firmware support?
Anker’s naming shift to Clean-branded successors, reported by The Verge in November 2023, left the RoboVac line without a direct replacement carrying the same name, and the G30 moved to clearance pricing as inventory of its filters and brushes thinned.
Q.
Why is the iRobot Roomba e5 excluded from iRobot's current product roadmap?
iRobot’s own 2024 investor disclosures, filed after the Amazon acquisition collapsed, listed discontinued pre-2020 hardware like the e5 outside the company’s forward plans while it operated at a loss.
Q.
Does the Shark ION Robot 750 still compete with Shark's current lineup?
No. Shark’s own 2023 product-lineup materials shifted the brand’s focus to the LiDAR-mapped Matrix and PowerDetect lines, leaving the ION 750 without an active development channel.
Q.
What does Dyson disclose about the R1 Nurovi Dry's navigation sensors?
High-speed LiDAR mapping, line lasers, and edge sensors, all listed on Dyson’s own product page for the R1. Dyson also names an ultrasonic sensor that tells hard floors from carpet and a piezo sensor that counts dust particles. None of it has been independently tested.
Q.
Do any of these four robot vacuums require a subscription for app scheduling?
None of them. The iRobot e5, eufy G30, and Shark ION 750 records confirm app scheduling and remote start with no subscription, and Dyson lists MyDyson app control for the R1 with no subscription named.
Next up

iRobot Roomba 980 vs Dyson R1 Nurovi Dry: what's actually documented?

Read the comparison
Comparison ID: RV–CMP–10069 · Last reviewed Sep 9, 2026 · Based on owner reports, manufacturer documentation, and firmware release notes