- Changes
- 4
- Tracking since
- Sep 2026
- Latest
- Sep 20, 2026
- Net movement
- Classification stable
- 2026
-
Dyson's entry-tier Nurovi R1 reaches US retail at $549.99
The Dyson R1 Nurovi Dry reached US retail on September 20, 2026, priced at $549.99 and confirmed in stock at Dyson's own store.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score040557085Not scoredWhat happenedAs the least expensive model in the new Nurovi range, it keeps the line's LiDAR navigation and rated 21,000 Pa suction but drops mopping. No independent review has tested those figures yet, so verifying real-world suction and coverage is the next step.
Bottom lineThe R1 is the Nurovi line's price floor, not a tested baseline: every performance figure behind the launch still traces to Dyson's own materials.
ImpactOn autonomy
- The commercial launch gives independent reviewers their first chance to test Level III claims.
- LiDAR mapping and persistent no-go zones carry over unchanged from the R2 and R3.
- Obstacle recognition and edge-case recovery are still described only by Dyson's own materials.
On readiness
- The R1 is confirmed in stock at Dyson's US store and third-party retailers.
- At $549.99 it is the lowest priced entry point into the Nurovi range.
- Readiness still rests on manufacturer specifications alone until independent testing appears.
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
21,000 Pa of rated suction
Documented findingManufacturer-published figure; no independent suction measurement exists yetTwin-capture separation keeps suction consistent as the bin fills
Documented findingNo independent test of separation performance over a full dock cycle has been publishedBagless dock stores about 90 days of debris
Documented findingDyson's own estimate; no owner reports have confirmed the interval in home useSame LiDAR navigation and sensing as the pricier R2 and R3
Documented findingDocumented in manufacturer specifications across all three Nurovi models; the R1 differs only by omitting mop hardwareEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
- 1Dyson US Store (R1 Nurovi Dry product page)20 Sep 2026named, not linked
- 2techmymoney.com20 Sep 2026
Technical notes3 sectionsLaunch
The R1 Nurovi Dry went on sale in the US on September 20, 2026 at $549.99 through Dyson’s own online store, with stock confirmed and shown as available at the listed price. It is the entry tier of a three-model Nurovi range; the R2 Wash+Dry and R3 Spot+Scrub UV add mop hardware the R1 does not carry.
Hardware Carried Over
Dyson rates the R1 at 21,000 Pa of suction through its Twin-capture debris separation system, the same figure and mechanism documented for the pricier R2 and R3. Navigation is high-speed LiDAR mapping with line lasers and edge sensors, an ultrasonic sensor that separates hard floor from carpet, and a piezo sensor that sizes dust to adjust suction. The dock is bagless and cyclonic: it empties the robot after every run and stores debris for about 90 days before it needs emptying by hand, so the R1 needs no replacement bags.
What Launch Materials Do Not Cover
Dyson has not published a battery capacity, a sound rating, or an onboard bin volume for the R1. Rated runtime is 120 minutes per charge with a roughly six-and-a-half-hour recharge. No independent review, teardown, or owner report has tested any of these figures yet.
-
Dyson designer details origami-inspired side-sweeper redesign on Nurovi line
A Dyson design manager, interviewed by a trade publication, described the development of a redesigned side sweeper shared across the new Nurovi robot vacuum lineup, including the R1 Nurovi Dry.
Full assessment2 claims · 2 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score040557085Not scoredWhat happenedThe sweepers angle debris toward the airflow path via a flexible connector managing brush pressure and direction, intended to reduce hair wrap and scattered dirt versus earlier designs; higher-tier Nurovi models separately carry new triangular mop geometry, a feature the R1 Nurovi Dry does not use since it omits mopping.
WatchingFor independent lab or owner-report data on hair-wrap rates once units are in wider use.
Bottom lineA documented design-team account of a specific mechanical change; independent measurement of its actual hair-wrap or scatter reduction was not found in the coverage reviewed.
ImpactOn autonomy
- No autonomy or navigation change reported
- The redesign concerns brush geometry and debris handling, not mapping or decision-making
On readiness
- The side-sweeper redesign is shared across the Nurovi lineup rather than exclusive to one model
- Triangular mop geometry described in the interview applies to higher-tier Nurovi models, not the R1 Nurovi Dry, which has no mopping system
Claim check2 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Coverage frames the redesign as a design breakthrough
Documented findingThe interview documents specific mechanical reasoning: sweepers angled toward the airflow path via a flexible connector, intended to reduce hair wrap and scatter, and notes the feature had been shelved internally for years before shippingThe origami framing could read as purely aesthetic
Documented findingThe design manager ties the geometry directly to a functional goal (reducing hair wrap and dirt scatter versus earlier sweeper designs), not a cosmetic choiceEvidence2 sources · all linked
- 1TechRadar14 Sep 2026
- 2Yahoo Tech14 Sep 2026
Technical notes2 sectionsSide Sweeper Redesign
Dyson’s redesigned side sweepers use a flexible connector to manage brush pressure and direction, angling debris toward the vacuum’s airflow path. The design is shared across the new Nurovi lineup, including the R1 Nurovi Dry, and is intended to reduce hair wrapping and scattered debris compared with earlier Dyson sweeper designs. According to the design manager interviewed, the underlying concept had been shelved internally for years before being incorporated into this lineup.
Lineup Context
The R1 Nurovi Dry omits a mopping system, using Dyson’s Twin-capture dry-cleaning approach across hard floors and carpets, rated at 21,000 Pa suction. New triangular mop geometry described in the same interview applies to higher-tier Nurovi models (such as the R2 Nurovi Wash+Dry) that include mopping, not to the R1 Nurovi Dry.
-
Dyson confirms R1 Nurovi Dry robot vacuum launches September 2026 at $549
Dyson announced at IFA 2026 in Berlin that the R1 Nurovi Dry, part of a ten-product wave, will launch in September 2026 at $549, matching the price already recorded for this SKU.
Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score040557085Not scoredWhat happenedThe announcement fixes a launch window but adds no navigation or sensor detail.
WatchingFor a specific US ship date, still unresolved at press time.
Bottom lineThe IFA 2026 announcement fixes commercial timing and price but adds no independent verification or new capability detail beyond what Dyson has already disclosed.
ImpactOn autonomy
- No new navigation or sensor disclosure accompanied the pricing and date announcement.
- Autonomy classification remains Level II pending R1-specific sensor architecture details.
On readiness
- US launch window narrowed to September 2026, still without an exact ship date.
- UK retail sales are live while US availability through any retailer remains undisclosed.
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Dyson calls the R1 Nurovi Dry its most affordable robot vacuum yet, priced at $549.
Documented findingCoverage of the IFA 2026 launch documents the September 2026 launch and price, without a specific US ship date.The R1 arrives as part of what Dyson framed as a ten-product wave unveiled at IFA 2026.
Documented findingA press roundup catalogs ten new Dyson products from the Berlin show; the R1's own navigation and sensor specifications were not detailed in that announcement.Marketed alongside pricier Nurovi models sharing the same debris-handling hardware.
Documented findingDyson's launch materials describe Twin-capture separation and redesigned side sweepers as carried down from the R2 and R3, but the R1 ships with no mop hardware at all.Positioned within a Nurovi range Dyson describes as its newest robot vacuum generation.
Documented findingAutonomy classification stays at Level II; Dyson detailed LiDAR and line-laser navigation for the R2 sibling but not for the R1.Evidence2 sources · all linked
213 Sep 20265 Sep 2026filed 5 Sep 2026- 1CNET5 Sep 2026
- 2Vacuum Wars3 Sep 2026
Technical notes3 sectionsAnnouncement
At IFA 2026 in Berlin, Dyson announced the R1 Nurovi Dry will launch in September 2026 at a $549 US price, part of a ten-product wave covered in press reports on 2026-09-05. The price matches the figure already recorded for this SKU; the announcement fixes a launch window rather than adding new capability detail.
Carried-Over Hardware
The R1 retains Twin-capture debris separation and redesigned, flexible-connector side sweepers shared with the pricier R2 Wash+Dry, per Dyson’s own launch materials. It carries no mop hardware; wet cleaning is reserved for the R2 and R3 Spot+Scrub UV siblings.
What Remains Undisclosed
Dyson detailed LiDAR and line-laser navigation for the R2 in the same announcement but has not specified the R1’s navigation sensors, dustbin capacity, or runtime. Autonomy classification for this SKU stays at Level II pending that disclosure. UK retail sales began same-day; US availability trails into later September 2026 with no specific ship date set at press time.
-
Dyson unveils R1 Nurovi Dry, its first sub-$550 robot vacuum
Dyson unveiled the R1 Nurovi Dry at a Berlin launch event, its first robot vacuum priced under $550.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIIConditional AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesRobovations Score040557085Not scoredWhat happenedThe model carries over Twin-capture debris separation and redesigned side sweepers from Dyson's pricier Nurovi siblings but drops mopping hardware entirely to hit the price.
WatchingFor a confirmed US ship date and independent testing of the anti-hair-wrap sweeper redesign.
Bottom lineSpecs and US pricing are confirmed by Dyson; independent verification of performance and a firm US ship date remain outstanding.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Navigation sensor architecture for the R1 was not disclosed at launch, unlike the R2 sibling.
- Robovations classifies the R1 at Level II pending confirmation of its navigation stack.
On readiness
- UK retail listings went live at launch; a confirmed US ship date has not surfaced.
- No independent reviews exist yet; every published spec traces to Dyson's own materials.
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Dyson's first robot vacuum under $550
Documented findingConfirmed US price is $549, reached by removing the mop hardware present on the pricier R2 and R3 Nurovi siblings, per Dyson's own launch materials.Redesigned side sweepers cut hair wrap
Documented findingThe flexible-connector redesign is documented in launch materials; no independent or owner testing has yet confirmed reduced tangling.21,000 Pa suction
Documented findingThe figure comes from Dyson's own press materials; no third-party suction measurement has been published.Available now
Documented findingUK retail listings went live at launch, but US availability trails into later September 2026 with no confirmed ship date or retailer listing.Evidence2 sources · all linked
123 Sep 20264 Sep 2026filed 3 Sep 2026- 1PR Newswire (Dyson press release)3 Sep 2026
- 2Vacuum Wars4 Sep 2026
Technical notes4 sections
Launch Details
Dyson unveiled the R1 Nurovi Dry alongside the R2 Nurovi Wash+Dry and R3 Nurovi Spot+Scrub UV at a Dyson Unveiled event in Berlin on September 3 2026, positioned as the entry tier of the new three-model Nurovi range.
Hardware
The R1 carries the Twin-capture debris separation system shared with the R2, in which bristles mechanically direct larger debris into the robot while the vacuum motor handles fine dust separately. Dyson rates suction at 21,000 Pa. Side sweepers use flexible connectors intended to control bristle pressure and direction and reduce hair wrap, a documented complaint on prior Dyson robot vacuums.
What Is Missing
The R1 has no mop hardware, unlike the R2 and R3. Dyson’s announcement detailed LiDAR and line-laser navigation for the R2 but did not specify a navigation sensor stack for the R1. Dustbin capacity, runtime, and charge time were not disclosed for this SKU.
Availability
UK retail listings went live at launch. Dyson confirmed a $549 US list price, but launch coverage places US retail later in September 2026 with no specific ship date or retailer listing confirmed.