Skip to content
Saved
LG Q9 AI Agent
Robot Tracker

LG Q9 AI Agent

LG · Multi-Task Robots
  1. 2025
  2. LG Q9 AI Agent launches commercially in South Korea on subscription model

    LG launched the Q9 AI Agent for consumer purchase in South Korea in September 2025 via a subscription model, with advanced autonomy features gated behind monthly tiers.

    WaitNew to MarketReadiness
    Overall

    Full assessment5 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
    ReleaseCommercialIncremental

    Where it stands
    LG Q9 AI Agent
    Autonomy Ladder
    Level IIIConditional Autonomy
    Human Readinessmoved by this entry
    Not rated
    Robovations Score↑ moved by this entry
    Not scored
    What happened

    The Korea release marks the transition from multi-year demo phase to documented owner adoption, with Korean-language tech communities providing early real-world performance data. Key watch items are subscription tier pricing in future international markets and whether cloud-processing latency reports emerge from owner communities over the following months.

    Bottom line

    The Korea commercial launch validates production readiness and owner adoption; subscription model economics and international availability are the material open questions for Western buyers.

    Impact

    On autonomy

    • Commercial release triggers first real-home autonomy documentation from owner reports
    • Korean owner community reports emerging on multi-room mapping in actual residential layouts
    • Subscription tier gates cloud-based object recognition; base tier autonomy ceiling undocumented
    • Cloud-dependent task orchestration creates reliability dependency on LG infrastructure uptime

    On readiness

    • Korea commercial availability confirms hardware-production scale-up achieved
    • Subscription model sets recurring cost precedent for Western buyers evaluating total ownership cost
    • US and EU availability absent; no date or pricing published for international markets at launch
    • Warranty and spare-parts logistics outside Korea not established
    Claim check

    5 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.

    AI-powered home robot for everyday tasks
    Documented findingKorea owner reports document multi-room navigation and appliance command in residential environments; longitudinal reliability data still accumulating
    Subscription unlocks full autonomy capability
    Documented findingSubscription tier structure confirmed; specific feature gates and base-tier autonomy ceiling not fully documented in English-language sources
    Seamless LG ecosystem integration
    Documented findingLG ThinQ appliance integration documented as working in Korean deployments; third-party and non-LG appliance interoperability reported via Matter but not independently benchmarked
    US and global availability coming
    Documented findingLG stated expansion plans post-Korea launch; no US or EU SKU, date, or pricing published as of September 2025
    Cloud AI enables advanced object recognition
    Documented findingCloud-dependent architecture confirmed; recognition accuracy and latency not published in manufacturer or third-party technical documentation
    Evidence

    2 sources · 1 linked

    1. 1LG Electronics Press Release10 Sep 2025named, not linked
    2. 2Korea Herald16 Sep 2025
    Technical notes
    4 sections
    Commercial Launch Details

    LG Electronics launched the Q9 AI Agent commercially in South Korea in September 2025. Distribution through LG’s Korean retail and direct channels. Subscription-based pricing model with tiered feature access; exact pricing and tier structure published in Korea but not in English-language documentation reviewed.

    Confirmed Hardware at Launch

    Wheeled mobile base for multi-room traversal. LiDAR and camera navigation stack per manufacturer disclosure. Articulated gripper for light object manipulation. Automatic return-to-dock and recharge. Weight and dimensions not published in English-language coverage.

    Software and Cloud Architecture

    Cloud-based task orchestration and AI object recognition confirmed as subscription-tier features. Core navigation and docking available without premium subscription tier. Matter protocol integration for third-party smart-home devices. WiFi-dependent operation; no offline fallback mode documented.

    Owner Report Signals

    Korean-language tech forums and community boards document early adoption. Positive initial signals on mapping accuracy in residential layouts. Longitudinal failure-mode patterns and firmware update frequency still accumulating after first months in market.

  3. LG Q9 AI Agent returns to CES 2025 with updated demo and Korea launch signal

    At CES 2025, LG showed the Q9 AI Agent in operational demos including multi-room navigation, appliance-command sequences, and object interaction on the show floor.

    Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
    DemoAutonomyIncremental

    Where it stands
    LG Q9 AI Agent
    Autonomy Ladder
    Level IIIConditional Autonomy
    Human Readiness
    Not rated
    Robovations Score
    Not scored
    What happened

    South Korea was identified as the launch market; no commercial date or subscription pricing was disclosed. The demonstration gap to close before the eventual Korea launch is whether cloud-processing latency and mapping fidelity hold outside a controlled exhibit environment.

    Bottom line

    CES 2025 advanced the Q9 from concept to functional demo stage; the gap between exhibit-floor performance and real-home deployment remains uncharacterized.

    Impact

    On autonomy

    • Multi-room navigation demonstrated on CES floor; mapping method not specified in published coverage
    • Appliance command via ThinQ integration shown in live demo with LG HVAC and lighting
    • Object retrieval concept demonstrated; success rate and payload limits not published
    • LiDAR plus camera navigation stack referenced but sensor configuration not fully specified

    On readiness

    • Korea launch market confirmed; no launch date or pricing disclosed at CES 2025
    • Subscription model referenced in coverage; tier structure and feature gates not published
    • US and European availability not addressed; Korea-only framing implies 12-plus month exclusivity
    • CES demo environment is controlled; real-home mapping performance unverified
    Claim check

    4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.

    Autonomous multi-room navigation
    Documented findingNavigation demonstrated on CES exhibit floor; real-home mapping fidelity and failure-mode behavior not documented in published coverage
    LG ThinQ appliance integration works seamlessly
    Documented findingLive demo showed appliance commands executing with LG-brand devices in controlled setting; third-party appliance interoperability not demonstrated
    AI-powered object recognition and retrieval
    Documented findingObject interaction shown in demo; recognition accuracy, payload range, and failure cases not published
    Ready for Korea launch
    Documented findingKorea identified as launch market; no commercial date, pricing, or subscription tier published at CES 2025
    Evidence

    2 sources · 1 linked

    1. 1LG Electronics CES 2025 Press Release6 Jan 2025named, not linked
    2. 2Engadget8 Jan 2025
    Technical notes
    4 sections
    Demo Format

    Live floor demonstration at CES 2025 in Las Vegas. LG staff operated or supervised Q9 units navigating a staged home environment with LG-brand appliances. Coverage from multiple technology publications documented navigation and command sequences.

    Observed Capabilities

    Room-to-room wheeled navigation with obstacle avoidance in exhibit-floor layout. Voice and app-initiated appliance commands to LG HVAC and lighting units. Object placement and light manipulation demonstrated. Docking and recharge return sequence shown.

    Specification Updates

    LiDAR and camera-based navigation referenced in press coverage; exact sensor count and model not published. Matter protocol support confirmed for third-party smart-home integration. Battery capacity, runtime, and weight not published in coverage reviewed. Subscription model structure described qualitatively; tier pricing not announced.

    Market Disclosure

    South Korea confirmed as initial commercial market. US market interest acknowledged; no SKU, date, or pricing for Western markets disclosed at the event.

  4. 2024
  5. LG Q9 AI Agent unveiled at CES 2024 as home AI hub concept

    LG Electronics announced the Q9 AI Agent at CES 2024 in Las Vegas, presenting a wheeled mobile platform with built-in cameras, microphones, and ThinQ smart-home connectivity.

    Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
    AnnouncementHardwareMajor advance

    Where it stands
    LG Q9 AI Agent
    Autonomy Ladder
    Level IIIConditional Autonomy
    Human Readiness
    Not rated
    Robovations Score
    Not scored
    What happened

    The concept framing positioned the Q9 as a home AI hub rather than a task-specific appliance. No launch date, subscription pricing, or commercial availability details were disclosed at CES 2024; the announcement established LG's stated direction for home robotics.

    Bottom line

    CES 2024 established LG's intent for the Q9 platform; commercial capability and timeline remained undisclosed.

    Impact

    On autonomy

    • Wheeled mobile platform with camera and sensor array disclosed at concept stage
    • ThinQ ecosystem integration enables appliance command as documented capability target
    • Autonomous mapping and navigation specifics not published at announcement
    • Gripper and manipulation capability shown in concept; operational envelope not specified

    On readiness

    • No commercial availability, pricing, or launch date announced at CES 2024
    • Concept positioning signals multi-year development horizon before consumer deployment
    • LG brand and manufacturing credibility establish plausibility; engineering milestones unpublished
    • Subscription model structure not disclosed at this stage
    Claim check

    4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.

    AI-powered home hub robot
    Documented findingConcept presentation at CES 2024; no functional autonomy data published at announcement stage
    ThinQ ecosystem integration
    Documented findingIntegration with LG appliances stated as design intent; implementation specifics not documented
    Multi-task capability including fetch and monitoring
    Documented findingConcept video demonstrated intended tasks; no validated operational envelope published
    Home navigation autonomy
    Documented findingMapping and obstacle avoidance stated as design targets; no specification or demo footage published at CES 2024
    Evidence

    2 sources · 1 linked

    1. 1LG Electronics CES 2024 Press Release8 Jan 2024named, not linked
    2. 2The Verge9 Jan 2024
    Technical notes

    3 sections

    Announcement Format

    CES 2024 keynote and exhibit floor presentation by LG Electronics. Concept platform shown with wheeled base, camera array, and integrated microphones. LG positioned the Q9 as an AI-coordinated home hub that interfaces with HVAC, lighting, and other ThinQ appliances.

    Hardware Disclosed at CES 2024

    Wheeled rolling base for room-to-room mobility. Dual-camera configuration for visual sensing. Microphone array for voice interaction. Design concept included articulated arm or gripper concept; engineering specification not published. No weight, dimensions, battery capacity, or runtime specifications published at this stage.

    Software and Integration

    ThinQ ecosystem integration as stated design target. Matter protocol support not confirmed at CES 2024. Subscription model and autonomy feature tiers not disclosed. No firmware versioning or software stack details published.