- Changes
- 3
- Tracking since
- Mar 2025
- Latest
- Jun 27, 2025
- Net movement
- Classification stable
- 2025
-
Dobot Atom begins shipping to research and training buyers
Dobot moved the Atom from pre-order to active shipment for research institutions and corporate training buyers at $27,500.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIAssisted AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717678Pre-Order ReadyWhat happenedThe transition from announced to shipping hardware is a meaningful commercial milestone for a first-generation humanoid platform.
WatchingFor owner-report or research-lab publication data on locomotion reliability, teaching-station workflow, and real-world joint durability.
Bottom lineShipment start is a genuine milestone; performance data from deployed research units will be the next meaningful evidence layer.
ImpactOn autonomy
- Research deployments will begin generating real-world locomotion and scripting data outside controlled lab conditions
- Teaching-station workflow validated in institutional settings for the first time at scale
- No autonomous capability expansion accompanies shipment; motion-scripting model unchanged
On readiness
- First institutional buyers receiving hardware; early adopter feedback loop now active
- Research market deployment established; consumer channel remains undefined
- Long-term reliability data clock starts with first shipped units
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Shipping to research buyers
Documented findingManufacturer confirmed research and training market availability starting June 2025; specific institution names and unit counts not publicly disclosedReady for institutional deployment
Documented findingTeaching-station integration and motion-scripting are the documented deployment model; onsite technical support terms and SLA not publishedHumanoid platform for real-world research
Documented findingShipment to research institutions is confirmed; published performance data from deployed units not yet available; real-world locomotion reliability outside manufacturer-controlled testing is unvalidatedCollaborative-arm quality applied to humanoid production
Documented findingDobot's manufacturing track record is established in arm products; humanoid production quality, joint durability, and firmware stability in the Atom line have no published independent validation yetEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
125 Jun 202527 Jun 2025filed 27 Jun 2025- 1Dobot Press Release5 Jun 2025
- 2Robotics Business Review11 Jun 2025named, not linked
Technical notes4 sectionsShipment Configuration
The DT-AT-035-TR trainer model is the configuration entering research-market distribution in June 2025. This is the only publicly documented Atom configuration; additional variants or consumer configurations were not announced alongside shipment start.
Deployment Context
Institutional buyers (research institutions and corporate training facilities) are the disclosed recipient categories. Deployment support model, onsite integration assistance, and warranty terms were not detailed in publicly available shipment announcements.
Operating Domain at Shipment
At shipment start, the documented operating model is: programmed motion sequences and task scripting via teaching interface on flat indoor surfaces. Stair navigation and obstacle-height performance are not part of the published operating design domain at this stage. Wi-Fi connectivity supports teaching-station communication.
Firmware State
Firmware versioning at shipment was not publicly disclosed. Dobot’s product page notes firmware updates will be delivered as the research deployment program matures; no public changelog or versioning scheme has been established at this stage.
-
Dobot Atom trainer model DT-AT-035-TR pricing and spec sheet published
Dobot published the DT-AT-035-TR product specification, naming the $27,500 price point and 1500 TOPS AI compute figure alongside the trainer model designation.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIAssisted AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717678Pre-Order ReadyWhat happenedThe disclosure moved the Atom from announced platform to a purchasable institutional product.
WatchingFor first published research partnership deployments and any update to the consumer roadmap.
Bottom linePricing disclosure confirmed the Atom as an institutional product; the specification adds compute detail but does not advance the autonomous task capability evidence base.
ImpactOn autonomy
- 1500 TOPS onboard compute specified; scope of AI-driven task reasoning not yet benchmarked
- Motion-scripting and teaching-station workflow confirmed as primary operation model
- No new autonomous capability documented beyond announcement-stage specifications
On readiness
- $27,500 price point published; positions platform firmly in institutional and industrial budgets
- Trainer model designation (DT-AT-035-TR) confirms research-market product identity
- Consumer channel and consumer pricing not addressed in specification release
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
1500 TOPS onboard AI compute for advanced reasoning
Documented findingManufacturer specification lists 1500 TOPS; what tasks that compute actually enables autonomously is not benchmarked in published documentationResearch-ready out of the box
Documented findingTeaching-station integration is included; custom task programming requires expert users familiar with Dobot's motion-scripting environmentAffordable entry for humanoid research
Documented finding$27,500 is below some industrial humanoid platforms but an order of magnitude above announced consumer humanoid price targets; "affordable" is relative to industrial robotics, not consumer expectationsFull-body humanoid with collaborative-arm heritage
Documented findingDobot's arm expertise is documented; bipedal locomotion is a separate discipline; the specification does not claim carry-over performance from arm product linesEvidence2 sources · all linked
12Feb 2025Mar 2025filed 17 Mar 2025- 1Dobot Atom Product Specification Page20 Feb 2025
- 2IEEE Spectrum24 Feb 2025
Technical notes4 sectionsTrainer Model Identity
The published specification identifies the product as model DT-AT-035-TR, the trainer configuration of the Atom platform. The model number convention (TR suffix) signals the teaching and training workflow as the primary use case.
Compute Specification
The specification sheet names 1500 TOPS as the onboard AI compute figure. The compute module identity and architecture (dedicated NPU, GPU cluster, or system-on-module) were not detailed in the published spec at this stage.
Pricing and Availability
$27,500 was listed as the price for the DT-AT-035-TR configuration. Research-and-training market availability was stated; no retail channel, distributor network, or consumer pricing tier was announced alongside the spec sheet publication.
Connectivity and Interface
Wi-Fi connectivity listed. Teaching-station integration described as the primary programming interface. No third-party API or developer SDK documentation was published at this stage.
-
Dobot Atom humanoid platform officially announced with 28 DOF specification
Dobot disclosed the Atom humanoid platform publicly, naming 28 DOF, onboard AI compute, and a straight-knee bipedal gait.
Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
Where it stands
Autonomy LadderIIIIIIIVVLevel IIAssisted AutonomyHuman ReadinessReady NowNew to MarketWaitKnown IssuesNot ratedPre-Consumer Assessment03050717678Pre-Order ReadyWhat happenedThe disclosure established Dobot's intent to extend its collaborative-arm expertise into full-body humanoids. Consumer roadmap and pricing remained unannounced at this stage; watch for pricing disclosure and first research partnership confirmations.
Bottom lineAnnouncement established platform specs and market intent; autonomous capability scope and commercial path remained open at this stage.
ImpactOn autonomy
- 28 DOF bipedal architecture disclosed; motion-scripting via teaching interface described
- Onboard AI compute specified for motion planning and task scripting workflows
- Straight-knee gait architecture positions platform for scripted locomotion, not unstructured terrain
On readiness
- Platform announced as research and industrial training target; no consumer channel indicated
- No pricing disclosed at announcement; buyer pool limited to institutional evaluators
- Teaching-station integration described as primary interaction model for early adopters
Claim check4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.
Full-size humanoid with advanced onboard AI
Documented findingManufacturer documentation describes onboard AI compute for motion planning; autonomous end-to-end task completion not demonstrated at announcement28 DOF for human-like dexterity
Documented finding28 DOF is a documented spec; dexterity benchmark comparisons to human movement not published by Dobot at this stageCollaborative-robotics expertise applied to humanoids
Documented findingDobot has an established track record in collaborative arms; humanoid locomotion is a distinct engineering challenge with no carry-over from arm kinematics per manufacturer positioningDesigned for research and industrial training
Documented findingAnnouncement materials confirm research and training market target; no consumer availability timeline statedEvidence2 sources · 1 linked
12Sep 2024Mar 2025filed 1 Mar 2025- 1Dobot Press Release15 Sep 2024named, not linked
- 2The Robot Report17 Sep 2024
Technical notes4 sections
Platform Architecture
Dobot’s announcement described the Atom as a full-size bipedal humanoid with 28 degrees of freedom distributed across the upper and lower body. The straight-knee gait architecture was specifically named, distinguishing the platform from articulated-knee designs in competing research humanoids.
Compute and Control
Onboard AI compute was disclosed as the motion planning and task-scripting substrate. Specific compute module identity and TOPS figure were not part of the initial announcement; those details emerged in subsequent product specification documents.
Interaction Model
Teaching-station integration was described as the primary programming interface, consistent with Dobot’s collaborative-arm product line which uses teach-pendant and software-based motion scripting. This positions the Atom for expert users, not consumer self-setup.
Market Positioning
The announcement positioned the Atom explicitly for research institutions and industrial training facilities. No consumer channel, retail partner, or consumer pricing band was stated at this stage.