Skip to content
Saved
Bissell SpinWave Robot
Robot Tracker

Bissell SpinWave Robot

Bissell · Robot Vacuums
  1. 2024
  2. Bissell SpinWave price drops as robot-line investment stays narrow

    Retailer pricing on the SpinWave declined to $199-249 at major US outlets by mid-2024, consistent with inventory drawdown rather than a deliberate repositioning.

    Full assessment4 claims · 4 technical notes · 2 sources
    NewsCommercialLateral

    Where it stands
    Bissell SpinWave Robot
    Autonomy Ladder
    Level IIAssisted Autonomy
    Human Readiness
    Robovations Score
    59Capable
    What happened

    Bissell's robot portfolio remains a single SKU against a field of dedicated-brand competitors adding mapping, obstacle avoidance, and auto-wash docks.

    WatchingWhether Bissell introduces a successor or quietly exits the robot-mop category.

    Bottom line

    The price decline reflects market pressure, not a capability improvement; the SpinWave's value case depends on accepting a high maintenance-per-session ratio at a lower upfront cost.

    Impact

    On autonomy

    • No firmware or navigation changes accompany the pricing movement.
    • Gyroscope dead-reckoning capability remains unchanged at Level II.

    On readiness

    • Lower retail price reduces upfront cost barrier for new buyers.
    • No change to pad-maintenance cadence or session-setup requirements.
    • Absence of a successor model raises continuity risk for spare parts.
    Claim check

    4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.

    Dual spinning pads clean floors without effort
    Documented findingOwner reports consistently document manual water-tank refill, pad rinse, and detergent addition required before every session; automation covers motion only
    Affordable robot mopping solution
    Documented findingRetail price dropped to $199-249 by mid-2024, but total cost of ownership includes pad replacement sets ($20 per pair) every 2-4 months and filter cartridges quarterly
    Works across all floor types
    Documented findingBissell's own product documentation restricts use to sealed hard floors; owner reports document mold and backing damage on carpet wet contact
    Hands-free cleaning
    Documented findingNo auto-empty, no auto-wash dock, no app-based scheduling beyond basic on-board controls; each session requires manual preparation and post-run cleanup
    Evidence

    2 sources · 0 linked

    1. 1Bissell Product Page15 May 2024named, not linked
    2. 2The Wirecutter10 Jun 2024named, not linked
    Technical notes

    4 sections

    Commercial Context

    Bissell positioned the SpinWave as its single robot-mop SKU since 2020. By mid-2024, no successor with LiDAR mapping, self-emptying dock, or auto-wash capability had been announced. Major competitors in the $300-500 band, including Roborock and Ecovacs, added auto-wash docks and obstacle cameras during this period, widening the capability gap.

    Pricing Movement

    Retail price at Walmart, Target, and Amazon moved from the $250-299 range in 2023 to $199-249 in mid-2024, consistent with end-of-lifecycle inventory clearance patterns. MSRP remains listed at $299 on Bissell’s own product page.

    Navigation Architecture (Unchanged)

    Gyroscope dead-reckoning with bump sensor and IR dock return. No room-mapping memory. No obstacle avoidance beyond contact. Firmware version not disclosed in manufacturer support documentation.

    Spare Parts Availability

    Replacement microfiber pads (model-specific two-pack) and filter cartridges remain listed on Bissell’s parts portal as of mid-2024. No discontinuation notice published.

  3. 2020
  4. BISSELL launches SpinWave Robot, a $399 two-in-one wet mop and vacuum

    BISSELL launched the SpinWave Robot on October 1, 2020, a two-in-one wet mop and dry vacuum that relies on gyroscope-based structured navigation rather than room mapping.

    Full assessment4 claims · 3 technical notes · 2 sources
    ReleaseCommercialIncremental

    Where it stands
    Bissell SpinWave Robot
    Autonomy Ladder
    Level IIAssisted Autonomy
    Human Readiness
    Robovations Score
    59Capable
    What happened

    The unit shipped at $399 MSRP through select retailers nationwide and paired with the BISSELL Connect app for remote scheduling. Independent verification of cleaning consistency and app reliability had not yet been published at launch.

    Bottom line

    Coverage of the SpinWave Robot has generally confirmed its core wet-dry mechanics while flagging mapping and connectivity limitations the launch materials did not address.

    Impact

    On autonomy

    • Gyroscope-based structured navigation runs systematic back-and-forth passes and returns to missed spots.
    • Soft Surface Avoidance Sensor detects carpet and rugs to prevent water damage during mopping.
    • BISSELL Connect app adds remote start, scheduling and cleaning-history tracking without owner presence.

    On readiness

    • Nationwide retail launch at $399 MSRP made connected wet-dry cleaning available without a subscription.
    • Stair and drop-off avoidance sensors reduce owner intervention during unattended mopping cycles.
    • No published room mapping means owners cannot confine cleaning to specific zones at launch.
    Claim check

    4 maker claims checked against the record. Open one to read the finding.

    Structured navigation with gyroscope technology cleans systematically and returns to missed spots
    Documented findingManufacturer specification; independent reviewers note the unit lacks room mapping, so owners cannot exclude specific areas from cleaning runs
    Soft Surface Avoidance Sensor keeps carpets and rugs dry during mopping mode
    Documented findingManufacturer-stated sensor function; independent long-term carpet-contact testing was not published at launch
    BISSELL Connect app enables remote control, scheduling and cleaning history
    Documented findingReview aggregators describe recurring owner complaints about app connectivity and battery life in the years after launch
    Triple Action dry mode pairs a brush roll, edge brushes and suction with a $399 MSRP
    Documented findingConfirmed launch specification and retail price through select nationwide retailers per the manufacturer announcement
    Evidence

    2 sources · all linked

    1. 1PR Newswire (BISSELL Press Release)1 Oct 2020
    2. 2Benzinga (Press Release Syndication)1 Oct 2020
    Technical notes

    3 sections

    Launch Specifications

    BISSELL announced the SpinWave Robot from Grand Rapids, Michigan on October 1, 2020, with an MSRP starting at $399 sold through select retailers nationwide ahead of the holiday season. The two-in-one unit uses gyroscope-based structured navigation to clean in systematic back-and-forth passes and return to missed spots, rather than camera or LiDAR-based room mapping. A Soft Surface Avoidance Sensor is designed to keep the unit off carpets and rugs during wet-mopping mode, and the robot is built to avoid stairs and drop-offs.

    Cleaning Modes

    Wet mode uses rotating mop pads with BISSELL multi-surface cleaning solution to wash sealed hard floors while sweeping up dry debris. Dry mode adds what BISSELL calls Triple Action performance: a rotating brush roll, edge-cleaning brushes and suction.

    Connectivity and Market Position

    The SpinWave pairs with the BISSELL Connect app for remote start, scheduling, cleaning-preference selection and cleaning-history tracking. The announcement did not specify battery capacity, runtime or dustbin volume. Independent verification of the sensor’s carpet-avoidance accuracy and app reliability had not been published at the time of the announcement.