Skip to content
Saved

Goal-based/Humanoid Robots/2 robots compared/Reviewed Aug 2026

PNDbotics Adam vs AgiBot A2: what does each actually do?

Both sit at the same autonomy ceiling.Adam and the A2 are both classified Level II, Assisted Autonomy. Adam's ceiling traces to a confirmed scripted flagship demonstration; the A2's traces to unpublished task-selection evidence, not a mobility limit.
PNDbotics AdamView recordPNDboticsIIAdamDegrees of freedom25
AgiBot A2View recordAgiBotIIA2Degrees of freedom40$100,000
Full specifications17 measurements · 21 of 34 documented
MSRP
Not documented
$100,000
Rated runtime
Not documented
120 min
Charge time
Not documented
120 min
Battery capacity
Not documented
700 Wh
Battery type
Li-ion
Li-ion
Navigation
Bipedal locomotion via 25 quasi-direct-drive force-controlled actuators; no independent source describes autonomous mapping, route planning, or self-docking. The platform’s most independently scrutinized public demonstration was confirmed pre-programmed and human-monitored.
Onboard camera array with vision-based object detection and localization; IMU for balance and motion control
Connectivity
Not documented
wifi
Dimensions (W×D×H)
Not documented
22 × 14.2 × 66.9 in
Weight
132 lbs
152.1 lbs
Released
Not documented
Aug 2024
Degrees of freedom / actuators
25 quasi-direct-drive (QDD) force-controlled actuators, up to 340 N-m torque in leg assemblies
Not documented
Compute
12th-generation Intel i7 with a real-time control unit (PND RCU); 16-port Gigabit Ethernet switch
Not documented
Control approach
Reinforcement learning trained in simulation, transferred to hardware, supplemented with imitation learning from human motion-capture data
Not documented
Keytar demonstration control method
Confirmed pre-programmed and choreographed, with live monitoring by PNDbotics developers, per independent reporting
Not documented
Product family
PNDbotics now sells Adam Lite/Standard, Adam Pro, the 41-DOF ‘Adam SP’, and the wheeled ‘Adam U’; this record covers the base 25-DOF, 1600mm, 60kg configuration
Not documented
Degrees of Freedom
25
40
Payload
Not documented
33.1 lb
01/05

What is each robot actually built for?

This section compares each platform's stated buyer, sale channel, and integration tooling as published by the manufacturer.

Where they differAgiBot A2 — Sale channel: Online store (China) + JD.com
EvidencePNDbotics AdamAgiBot A2
Primary buyerManufacturing, logistics, healthcare, researchIndustrial and research buyers
Sale channelEnterprise inquiry-onlyOnline store (China) + JD.comDiffers
Published base priceNot disclosed$100,000 MSRP
Developer toolingOpen-source SDK, Isaac Gym-compatibleDiffersNot publicly documented
Product family tiersLite/Standard, Pro, SP, ULite, Standard, Ultra
Sources & evidence
AgiBot store listing, Aug 2026

AgiBot lists the A2 Lite at $44,560 through its own online store, a public price point Adam's base configuration lacks in any source reviewed.

PNDbotics wiki documentation

PNDbotics ships Adam with an open-source, NVIDIA Isaac Gym-compatible SDK for research integration; AgiBot has not published equivalent developer tooling for the A2.

02/05

What has each robot's flagship demonstration actually proven?

This section compares each platform's most widely covered public demonstration against what independent sources actually confirm about its control method.

Where they differAgiBot A2 — Verifying party: Guinness World Records
EvidencePNDbotics AdamAgiBot A2
Flagship public demonstrationKeytar performance (music festival)106.286 km walk (Suzhou-Shanghai)
Verifying partyIndependent press (New Atlas, TechEBlog)Guinness World RecordsDiffers
What was confirmedPre-programmed, choreographed, human-monitoredDistance, route, and duration
Demonstration typeMusical performance (manipulation, coordination)Continuous outdoor locomotion
Secondary demonstrationArchery: training described, live control unconfirmedNone comparably documented
Sources & evidence
New Atlas, TechEBlog reporting, 2026

New Atlas and TechEBlog independently report the keytar performance was pre-programmed and choreographed, with PNDbotics staff monitoring live rather than the robot improvising.

Guinness World Records, Nov 2025

Guinness World Records adjudicated the 106.286 km walk from Jinji Lake, Suzhou to the Shanghai Bund, run over three days and nights on public routes in November 2025.

03/05

What manipulation capability has each robot shown?

This section compares documented arm hardware and manipulation demonstrations, distinguishing what has been shown from what has been confirmed as autonomous.

EvidencePNDbotics AdamAgiBot A2
Degrees of freedom2540
Actuator/joint typeQuasi-direct-drive, force-controlledForce-compliant joints
Demonstrated manipulationArchery draw-and-release sequenceGrasping, placement (structured settings)
Payload capacityNot disclosed33.1 lb (manufacturer-specified)
Control method for demoArchery: live control unconfirmedOperator-initiated, scripted sequences
Sources & evidence
TechEBlog, 2026

TechEBlog describes Adam's archery demonstration as trained via reinforcement learning plus motion-capture imitation, without confirming whether an operator directed the specific public performance.

AgiBot manufacturer demonstrations

AgiBot's own demonstration footage documents dual-arm grasping and placement in structured settings, with no published account of autonomous task selection.

04/05

How does published evidence describe each robot's autonomy?

This section compares what independent and manufacturer sources confirm about the control method behind each platform's headline capabilities.

Where they differAgiBot A2 — Disclosed field production volume: 10,000+ units (cumulative, Mar 2026)
EvidencePNDbotics AdamAgiBot A2
Autonomy Ladder classificationLevel II, Assisted AutonomyLevel II, Assisted Autonomy
What caps the levelConfirmed scripted flagship demonstrationTask selection not published
Error recovery evidenceNot publicly documentedRelies on operator input
Open integration SDKYes, Isaac Gym-compatibleNot publicly documented
Disclosed field production volumeNot disclosed10,000+ units (cumulative, Mar 2026)Differs
Sources & evidence
Robovations classification record, Aug 2026

PNDbotics' autonomy justification for Adam names the keytar demonstration's confirmed scripted control as the basis for the Level II ceiling.

AgiBot production disclosures, cited Mar 2026

AgiBot reports more than 5,000 A2 units shipped during 2025 and over 10,000 cumulative units by March 2026, without publishing failure-rate or autonomy-scope data from that fleet.

05/05

What does each robot cost, and how is it sold?

This section compares published pricing, sale channel, and buyer eligibility for each platform, where prices have been disclosed.

EvidencePNDbotics AdamAgiBot A2
Base configuration priceNot disclosed$100,000 MSRP
Current listed priceNot disclosed$109,995
Lowest published tier priceAdam SP prototype, ~$100,000 (unconfirmed)A2 Lite, $44,560 (store)
Sale channelEnterprise inquiry-onlyOwn store + JD.com (China)
Consumer availabilityNoneNone
Sources & evidence
AgiBot store listings, Aug 2026

AgiBot's own store lists the A2 Lite at $44,560 and the current A2 at $109,995, alongside a China-market Expedition A2 Youth Edition at 198,000 yuan.

Humanoid.guide, Aparobot listings

PNDbotics has not disclosed a price for the base Adam configuration; only adjacent-tier figures exist, an Adam SP prototype near $100,000 and an Adam Lite retail listing at $120,000.

In closing

What the evidence shows

Patterns that emerged across the questions above.

01

Both sit at the same autonomy ceiling

Adam and the A2 are both classified Level II, Assisted Autonomy. Adam's ceiling traces to a confirmed scripted flagship demonstration; the A2's traces to unpublished task-selection evidence, not a mobility limit.

02

Evidence quality differs by capability, not brand

The A2's locomotion is backed by third-party adjudication; Adam's control-stack documentation and open SDK are more detailed than the A2's. Neither record establishes autonomous manipulation for either machine.

03

Pricing transparency is uneven across records

AgiBot publishes an MSRP, a current price, and a lower-tier storefront listing for the A2; PNDbotics has not disclosed a price for the base Adam configuration in any source reviewed.

Common questions

What readers ask about this comparison.

Q.
Is the PNDbotics Adam's keytar performance autonomous?
No. New Atlas and TechEBlog independently report the performance was pre-programmed and choreographed, with PNDbotics developers monitoring live to ensure it went smoothly.
Q.
How far has the AgiBot A2 walked?
106.286 km, from Jinji Lake in Suzhou to the Shanghai Bund, over three days and nights on public routes in November 2025, adjudicated by Guinness World Records.
Q.
Are either of these robots available to buy?
Not for consumer or household use. AgiBot sells the A2 line through its own online store and JD.com in China to developers and industrial buyers; PNDbotics distributes Adam enterprise inquiry-only, and no price for the base configuration is publicly disclosed.
Q.
Why are both classified Level II despite different flagship demonstrations?
Neither manufacturer has published evidence of the robot selecting and completing manipulation tasks end-to-end without operator initiation, which is the Robovations Autonomy Ladder’s Level III threshold, per each robot’s classification record.
Q.
Does the A2's distance-walking record mean it is more autonomous than Adam?
No. Locomotion evidence and task-autonomy evidence are separate measures. The A2’s record documents endurance walking, not autonomous task selection, so both machines remain capped at Level II on the same task-autonomy gap.
Next up

DJI ROMO P2 vs Eufy X10 Pro Omni: what's each for?

Read the comparison
Comparison ID: RV–CMP–9309 · Last reviewed Aug 27, 2026 · Based on owner reports, manufacturer documentation, and firmware release notes